Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Abbreviations are common among journals in the sciences. Since words and abbreviations used in journal titles are from a variety of languages, journal abbreviations can sometimes be difficult to work with. The following resources provide help in identifying the full journal title for a given abbreviation, and for determining the correct journal abbreviation for a given journal title.
Multi-disciplinary Journal Abbreviation Resources
Genamics JournalSeek provides information about journal abbreviations across a wide range of disciplines. It is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. The database presently contains 105,196 titles. Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category, and ISSN.
All That JAS
Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations or other types of abbreviated publication titles (e.g., conference proceedings titles). Covers a variety of subject areas in the sciences and humanities.
ISSN List of Title Word Abbreviations
The ISSN List of Title Word Abbreviations is a list that contains all the standardized abbreviations used for words in scientific citations. It is based on ISO 4 (ISO 4 is an international standard which defines a uniform system for the abbreviation of serial titles, i.e., titles of publications such as scientific journals). LTWA includes more than 56,000 words and their abbreviations in 65 languages. This resource does not list the abbreviated titles of journals, but lists standard word abbreviations that can help you construct or interpret an abbreviated journal title.
Web of Science
This list provides International Science Indexing (ISI) journal abbreviations. Note that ISI's abbreviations are non-standard. They were established by ISI when saving computer space was a priority. However, if you need a list of journals abbreviations connected to Web of Science or Current Contents, this may be a useful resource.
Life and Physical Sciences Abbreviation Resources
Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations
Hosted at the University of British Columbia, this searchable database, maintained by Kevin Linstrom, provides abbreviations for journals in Science and Engineering related fields.
CASSI: CAS Source Index Search Tool
Provided by the American Chemical Society, CASSI is a free tool to quickly identify journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
Journals Referenced in the NCBI Databases
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Catalog provides a tool that allows you to locate journal titles or abbreviations used in Journals referenced in the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Databases.