The new finder portal for Online Journals & Databases is the most convenient place to find access to digital journals, newspapers, and databases. Search for journals and databases by title, ISSN, or by subject. The Online Library Catalog and the Library’s Easy Search to is currently the best place find and access the most current inventory of e-books.
Literature databases are currently being added to the Journals and Databases list and will be findable by searching for them there. Easy Search also searches major databases in broad subject areas. Additionally, core database lists are available via unit library websites and subject LibGuides (available from departmental library websites and the Library’s LibGuide portal page).
NOTE: the Online Journals & Databases finder provides access to electronic journals, newspapers, and databases that the University Library has bought or licensed access to; many provide access to the complete full-text article. However, this finder will not search the contents of those periodicals. The search tool will link you to the publisher or vendor site for the title. The Online Journals and Databases list is useful if you would like to locate specific journals to browse or have known citation information to get access the specific article details, including its full text when available. Literature databases are used when you need to identify and search for literature on topics in known or unknown sources. Contact a librarian for more help!
Archives of Egyptian Business and Economy
Doing Business in Saudi Arabia
Information on the ease of doing business in Jordan
Doing Business in Saudi Arabia
A guide referring to selected sources of descriptive datasets and statistical sources in the fields of social science, health, and education and areas within the social sciences, such as crime, population and demography, and arms control
ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for a diverse and expanding social science research community.
Guide to resources for academic study and research in the teaching of English as a second, foreign, or international language
E-Twinning is the community for schools in Europe. It offers a platform for staff (teachers, head teachers, librarians, etc.) working in a school in one of the European countries involved, to communicate, collaborate, develop projects, share, and feel/be a part of the most exciting learning community in Europe. The eTwinning action promotes school collaboration in Europe through the use of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) by providing support, tools, and services for schools.
A website dedicated to UNESCO's approach to Global Citizenship Education.
Comprehensive research guide from the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library at UIUC.
Website dedicated to the global citizenship initiative at the Global Peace Building Center of the US Institute of Peace. This site includes resources for teachers, students, online learning activities, grant opportunities, and networking possibilities.
Globalizing Education Policy by 
Learning in the Global Era by 
Globalization and Education by 
Globalization, Education and Social Justice by NGO focused on Equality and Women's Rights.
Insight into Recent events in Egypt from a 21 year old Egyptian girl
A site dedicated to the role women play in Egypt
Human Rights Studies Online is a searchable database of documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide - including "Women, Human Rights, and Conflict". The collection takes a case study approach, providing primary and secondary materials for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video.
An organization dedicated to changing cultural perceptions of Arab Women
WSI provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Includes material from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies bibliography database, Women's studies database (1972-present), New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-present), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990) and the MEDLINE subset on women (1964-2000). Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature.
Website dedicated to streamlining global-health related research through digital platforms. The site offers collaboration opportunities, research resources, learning platforms for major global health issues, and more.
Website to the UIUC Global Health Initiative, including information on their partnership with Njala University in Sierra Leon, seminar information, global health certificate information, and more.
This website section of the US DHHS contains access to information on global health issues, such as pandemics and emerging threats, world health assembly, global health careers, global health diplomacy and more, focusing on US efforts in the realm of global health.
Specialized guide for literary theory through the Literatures and Languages Library, including post modernism, post-structuralism, psychoanalytic theory, Marxist theory, and beyond.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
Corpus de espanol will allow you to search from over 100 million words from more than 20,000 Spanish texts from the thirteenth to the twentieth century.
Contains good examples of music and dance from around the world.
This is the definitive reference tool for ethnomusicology. It takes a slightly more academic approach than the rough guide. It is divided into 10 volumes by geographic area: Vol. 1 Africa; Vol. 2 South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean; Vol. 3 The United States and Canada; Vol. 4 Southeast Asia; Vol. 5 South Asia: The Indian Subcontinent; Vol. 6 The Middle East; Vol. 7 East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea; Vol. 8 Europe; Vol. 9 Australia and the Pacific Islands; Vol. 10 The World's Music: General Perspectives and Reference Tools. The tenth volume contains very useful information (like glossaries, indexes, bibliographies, and discographies) if you would like to expand your search beyond basic information.
Resources on the following topics are presented in this guide to Russian Arts: music, opera, ballet, theater (in general, not as a literary genre), film, graphics, painting, stage design, and other related artistic and performance genres. For those sources that are applicable to more than one category, cross linking will be provided. If subject guides for particular topics are available, they will be discussed first, because by their very nature subject guides cover all genres of resources for a particular topic and often contain useful surveys of the state of research and publishing in that field. Please note that if you skipped the section on General Resources for the Arts, you may want to return to it at some point, for the resources mentioned there may pertain to both Eastern Europe and Russia.
The best streaming audio database for world music available to patrons at UIUC libraries.
This book is short but contains useful lists of books, recordings, and audio visual materials by geographic area, as well as different companies and vendors that sell relevant materials.
Call Number: ML128.F74 J47
This database of official statistics originating from various Government of India ministries and departments will provide important insight on various socio-economic concerns for the development of the country and its human capital. Users can drill down through levels of disaggregated data at national, state, district and sub-district levels, and extract information to present the statistical measures of the indicators in the form of maps, graphs and tables using the intuitive built-in wizard.
Europa World Plus includes economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
IBSS covers core social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. IBSS provides bibliographic citations to more than two million journal articles, reviews, books and selected chapters - from over 100 countries and in more than 90 languages. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. The Atlas thesaurus aids in finding works on a country or region; other speciaized thesauri and indexes are provided.
Subscription includes online access to: The International Studies Compendium Project. The International Studies Compendium Project, published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International studies online) or as a 12-volume set in print (The International Studies Encyclopedia). This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. International studies online is updated twice annually and is enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials.
Annual international trade statistics, provided by over 200 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country to the United Nations, are stored in UN COMTRADE, a computerized data base system, all values are converted in US dollars and metric units, the coverage dates as far back as 1962.
An online streaming documentary about Brazil, originally broadcast as an episode of "Discovery atlas" on the Discovery Channel in 2006. It highlights the rain forest, capoeira, soccer, carnival, and cowboys. UIUC affiliates only.
The institution responsible for preserving and documenting Brazilian film. Includes a filmography database covering Brazilian films produced between 1897 to 2007 (feature films, short films, newsreels and home movies).
A history of cinema and short films in Brazil from the Brazilian Embassy.
Print Resources:
New Trends in Argentine and Brazilian Cinema by 
Brazilian National Cinema by Website with resources on faculty-lead study abroad programs, including resources for building one at your home institution.
Article by Janet Hulstrand discussing the process of and giving tips on developing new study abroad programs to non-traditional locations.
A downloadable MS Word Document detailing, step-by-step, the process of building new study abroad programs.
Course guide for Education 201: Identity and Difference in Education. Course focuses on how we think about students and teachers -- and how we as students and teachers are socially positioned in our roles and our various identity categories and community attachments.
Course guide from Educational Policy Studies 530-Z. Includes online & continuing education services links, global studies resources, suggested article databases, and some helpful print resources.
Class guide containing (mostly print) reference resources on the topic of race and cultural diversity in the classroom.
Course guide containing statistical resources on multiracial families, as well as general statistical databases.
Access UN Identifies current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. Includes Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Includes information on international economic, social, cultural, and humanitarian issues. Also includes some full text.
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspapes.
IBSS covers core social science literature in disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, as well as a wide range of interdisciplinary fields. IBSS provides bibliographic citations to more than two million journal articles, reviews, books and selected chapters - from over 100 countries and in more than 90 languages. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. The Atlas thesaurus aids in finding works on a country or region; other speciaized thesauri and indexes are provided.
IPSA indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
