Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
Dictionary of Shakespeare
A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. The dictionary also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.
UIUC Online Catalog - Searches all UIUC libraries.
If a book is not available at UIUC . . .
- I-Share - Searches for items in more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois, including UIUC.
- WorldCat - Searches for items in libraries throughout the world.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
This is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Select Literature from the Subject list to search and browse literature reference sources.
Literature Resource Center
Identifies biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Coverage of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Shakespearean Subject Headings
If you'd like to find a book that is not on the reserve cart and not an online resource, you will need to look in the Online Catalog (the link for that is directly to your left from this paragraph!). One of the most efficient ways to search in the catalog is to use subject headings. To find a book about a specific play, you'll want to search for a subject heading formatted like this: Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. [Name of play]. So, for example:
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Henry V
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Comedies
Shakespeare William, 1564-1616 -- Histories
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Tragedies.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 --Technique
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Political and social views
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616-- Characters -- Women.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Criticism and interpretation -- History -- 20th century
Shakespeare William, 1564-1616 -- Stage history
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Dramatic production.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Language
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 -- Style
Helpful Websites and Online Resources
Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
Reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, with an explanation of their origins. Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.
Chicago Shakespeare Theatre
In addition to providing information about this particular theatre company, this website has various resources about Shakespeare and theatre.
The Folger is an internationally recognized research library, with Folger Theater housed within it. They produce publications and resources—in print and online—to support teachers, students, and lifelong learners interested in Shakespeare’s plays and the world that shaped them.
Royal Shakespeare Company
In addition to providing information about this modern theatre company, they also provide resources about Shakespeare's plays and life.
Let's Talk Shakespeare
Let’s Talk Shakespeare is a ten part podcast series exploring some of the most frequently asked questions about Shakespeare’s life.
Check Out Our Reserve Cart
Our reserve cart has books from our collection already hand-picked and ready to use! Please stop by and check it out; here is a small sample of some of the books there.
Critical Companion to William Shakespeare by
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
While much of Shakespeare's life remains a mystery, this engrossing reference examines all facets of Shakespeare and his writings. An essential two-volume resource for the study of this literary giant.
Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World by
Publication Date: 1999-07-27
This resource provides its users with clear definitions and descriptions of people, events, institutions, ideas, and terminology relating in some significant way to the Elizabethan period. This volume also includes relevant individuals and terms from Irish, Scottish, Welsh, American, and Western European history.