Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This peer reviewed journal provides a forum in which researchers, clinicians, policy makers, and people living with chronic illness come together to clarify the common principles underlying the experience and management of chronic illness.
Preventing Chronic Disease
This open access peer reviewed journal is produced by the Centers for Disease Control. It focuses on chronic diseases and their prevention.
International Journal of Chronic Diseases
An open access journal that is peer reviewed. This journal publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies in all areas of chronic diseases.
Academic Search Ultimate
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study, which makes it a great place to start the beginning stages of your research.
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, a database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Full-text is sometimes available for free.
Disability in the Modern World
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of interest include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, health and medicine, social development, education, and welfare services.
For more databases, use our A-Z Databases feature to search for relevant databases by keyword.
Combine keywords for a more complex search. Use the word AND to combine key words together and OR to search for one term or the other.
- Chronic Illness OR Chronic Disease
- Chronic Illness AND Mental Health
- Chronic Condition OR Chronic Illness AND Children
Check out our "Finding Statistics" guide for more information on finding statistics from multiple areas of study:
National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a variety of health statistics and surveys. The information on this website is free and they also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.