Collections representing the most complete record of Illinois biota anywhere. Includes more than 9.5 million specimens housed in eleven separate collections, some of which date back over 150 years. Most collections are also global in geographic coverage for many groups.
Houses many natural history collections, including The Crocker Land Expedition Collection from Greenland. Spurlock absorbed 3,000 collection items of the Illinois Museum of Natural History when it closed in 2001. Search the Spurlock Museum's online catalog to discover objects related to natural history, as well as artifacts related to the history of science and technology.
Visit the RBML to see rare and important works in the history of science. Strengths include Ornithology, Geology, Engineering, Computer Science, Volcanology, Chemistry, Knowledge Organization, Entomology, and Agricultural Science.
The History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library maintains a LibGuide pertaining to the digital collections accessible to affiliates of UIUC. Click on the provided link for digital collections related to the history of science, technology, and medicine. You will be redirected to a different LibGuide.
Provides access to a variety of digitized items from the American Philosophical Society's holdings. Digital collections include audio, graphics, texts, and video related to the history of science. Majority of audio collections relate to Indigenous peoples and languages of the Western Hemisphere.
The world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 55 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries.
Digital collections include: the Bateson Archive, Newton Papers, Cavendish Laboratory, Darwin Manuscripts, Darwin-Hooker Letters, Forman and Napier Casebooks, and materials related to Dorothy and Joseph Needham.
DPLA contains multiple resources that have been made freely and digitally accessible by libraries across the United States. There are multiple, curated exhibits related to science and technology in the U.S., focusing primarily on the twentieth century.
Access to more than 700 digital collections documenting the history of women in the United States. Diverse collections "range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s." Potentially relevant subjects include: birth control, health, health and hygiene, health eduction, hospitals, people with disabilities, sex education, women physicians, and women scientists.
Over 17 million books, periodicals, and government documents digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and research libraries. About 2,500,000 of these works can be read online (because they are public domain works, and therefore freely accessible).
Various collections related to science and technology, including Alexander Graham Bell Family Papers, Architecture, Design & Engineering Drawings, Science Blogs Web Archive, Sigmund Freud Papers, and Transportation and Communication
Open access digital collections of various materials (print, manuscript, audiovisual, etc.) related to American medical practitioners, public health, World Wars I and II, as well as National Library of Medicine Publications and Productions.
Digital collections include historical material documenting the relationship between science, technology, and medicine and the modern world. Includes artifacts, photographs, advertisements, letters, rare books, oral histories, etc.
This resource provides an online catalog of many of the historical scientific instruments located at the University of Toronto. The site provides photographs, details, and descriptions of the purpose of the instruments.
Developed by the Wellcome Library, one of the world's major resources for medical history. Mainly focuses on images related to medicine and biomedical science. But there are numerous disciplinary images and galleries, and the over 100,000 freely available high resolution images makes this collection worth looking at. Explore their digitized manuscripts and blog to encounter new and fascinating research material.
Finding More Collections
Discover additional collections related to the history of science, technology, and medicine using the following resource guides and finding aids: