Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History Resources

A guide to the key library sources for historical research.

Africa

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

Ancient/Classical

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

Asia

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

British Isles

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

Europe

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

First Nations

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

Medieval/Early Modern

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

Middle East

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

United States of America

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

South America/Latin America

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

South Asia

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.