Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History Resources

A guide to the key library sources for historical research.

Africa

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

Relevant subject searches in our catalog:

  • Africa -- Politics and Government
  • Africa--History 19th Century
  • Africa--History 1960-
  • Africa, Sub-Saharan

 

Ancient/Classical

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Rome -- History
  • Philosophy -- Ancient
  • Greece -- Civilization -- To 146 B.C.

Asia

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area.

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject.

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Vietnam -- History
  • China -- History
  • Japan -- History
  • Indonesia -- History
  • Thailand -- History

British Isles

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Great Britain -- History
  • Ireland -- History
  • Wales -- History
  • Scotland -- History
  • Monarchy -- Great Britain

Europe

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Europe -- History
  • Europe, Eastern -- History
  • Europe, Eastern -- Civilization

First Nations

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Indians of North America -- History
  • Indians of South America -- History
  • Indians of Central America -- History
  • Indians of South America -- Social Life and Customs
  • Indians of North America -- Social Life and Customs

Medieval/Early Modern

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Middle Ages
  • Civilization -- Medieval
  • History, Modern -- 16th Century
  • History of Medicine -- 16th Century

Middle East

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • Libya -- History
  • Middle East -- History
  • History -- Middle East -- General
  • Iran -- History
  • Arabian Peninsula -- History
  • Jerusalem -- History
  • Iraq -- History

United States of America

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • America -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783
  • African Americans -- Civil Rights -- History
  • United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865

South America/Latin America

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • History -- Latin America -- South America
  • Bolivia -- History
  • Colombia -- History
  • Peru -- History
  • Chile -- History

South Asia

Reference Works

These resources serve as a handy way to familiarize yourself with the basics of a topic you are unfamiliar with. While they do not always provide sources, they provide a concise summary of basics facts about different aspects of a subject area. 

Bibliographies

These resources are designed to provide lists and, in some cases, evaluative summaries of various resources based on topical coverage. They are useful in finding primary sources or lesser known works on a subject. 

Secondary Sources and Analysis

This material provides both analysis of the subject area and, depending on the quality of bibliographies and references, useful guides to further research material curated by subject matter experts. In addition to highlighting specific resources, we have also provided links for searching the library's catalog by subject.

  • South Asia -- History
  • India -- History
  • History -- Autonomy and independence movements
  • India -- History -- 1947
  • Bangladesh -- History