Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ms. Morford's Class
American Anthropological Association’s website for “RACE: Are We So Different?”
This website acts as an interactive reference for researching history and anthropology of what race is and how it's classified. It includes an interactive timeline on the history of race in the United States, links for studying human variation, and activities and quizzes to test your knowledge about stereotypes and more.
Ten Things Everyone Should Know About Race
Important list from the PBS website that breaks down the arguments from the first section of the film, "Race: The Power of an Illusion".
Race: the Power of Illusion
This film is divided into three parts. Part I, The Difference Between Us, examines the contemporary science - including genetics - that challenges our common sense assumptions that human beings can be bundled into three or four fundamentally different groups according to their physical traits. Part II, The Story We Tell, uncovers the roots of the race concept in North America, the 19th century science that legitimated it, and how it came to be held so fiercely in the western imagination. The episode is an eye-opening tale of how race served to rationalize, even justify, American social inequalities as "natural." Part III, The House We Live In, asks, If race is not biology, what is it? This episode uncovers how race resides not in nature but in politics, economics and culture. It reveals how our social institutions "make" race by disproportionately channeling resources, power, status and wealth to white people.
Background Readings for Race: The Power of an Illusion
This link assembles documents to give viewers more information about the concepts covered in 'Race'. Included in the listings are short articles, essays, and interviews.
On Racism and White Privilege
Collected from White Anti-Racist Activism: A Personal Roadmap, this page collects vocabulary terms on racism and white privilege, explaining the ideas and concepts in brief sections.
Taken from a section of "Racial Formation in the United States" this article goes deeply into depth on what Race is, how it acts as a Social Concept, what Racial Ideology is, as well as detailing the history of Race development.
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies, 2008
This is the paperback edition of a globally recognized sourcebook on race and ethnic relations. It has been assembled by a world-class team of international scholars led by Ellis Cashmore to provide an authoritative, single-volume reference work on all aspects of race and ethnic studies. From Aboriginal Australians to xenophobia, Nelson Mandela to Richard Wagner, sexuality to racial profiling, the Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and reflects cultural diversity in a global context.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Online reference link.
This three-volume reference presents a comprehensive look at the role race and ethnicity play in society and in our daily lives.. The Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society offers informative coverage of intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Containing nearly 600 entries, this resource provides a foundation to understanding as well as researching racial and ethnic diversity from a multidisciplinary perspective.
Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans
This encyclopedia contains 50 thorough profiles of the most numerically significant immigrant groups now making their homes in the United States, telling the story of our newest immigrants and introducing them to their fellow Americans.
Multiculturalism in the United States : a comparative guide to acculturation and ethnicity
Interest in ethnic studies and multiculturalism has grown considerably in the years since the 1992 publication of the first edition of this work. Co-editors Ratner and Buenker have revised and updated the first edition of "Multiculturalism in the United States" to reflect the changes, patterns, and shifts in immigration showing how American culture affects immigrants and is affected by them. Common topics that helped determine the degree and pace of acculturation for each ethnic group are addressed in each of the 17 essays, providing the reader with a comparative reference tool. Seven new ethnic groups are included: Arabs, Haitians, Vietnamese, Koreans, Filipinos, Asian Indians, and Dominicans. New essays on the Irish, Chinese, and Mexicans are provided as are revised and updated essays on the remaining groups from the first edition.
Ms. Rodem's Class
Letter to my Son by Ta-NeHisi Coates
In an article for The Atlantic, Ta-NeHisi Coates writes a letter about his experiences when it comes to racism in the United States, his own personal experiences in his past as well as his current experiences in the public eye.
Defining Racism: Can We Talk: Beverly Daniel Tatum
This link connects to a section of a book written by Beverly Daniel she defines in depth a few key concepts about how to look at Racism as an advantage system based on race as well as giving anecdotes from her own experiences talking with her people about the language and cost of racism.
Something About the Subject Makes it Hard to Name by Gloria Yamato
This series of articles addresses many significant issues that are prominent in race and ethnicity studies. A few of the topics that are touched on are: the process of acknowledging racism in the US, the history of integration, the influence of racial bias on decision-making, and housing discrimination.
Oppression by Marilyn Frye
Frye discusses the system of oppression of women using a metaphor of a birdcage. She answers the question about the difference between oppression and feeling miserable, what are limits vs. barriers, and the power of oppression in human language.