LibGuides: Getting Around: Physical Accessibility of Spaces: Researching Assistive Technology

What are assistive technologies?

The Technology Related Assistance to Individuals with Disabilities Act of 1988 described an assistive technology device as "any item, piece of equipment, or product system, whether acquired commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized, that is used to increase, maintain, or improve functional capabilities of individuals with disabilities."

Assistive technologies can be "high tech" and "low tech:" from canes and lever doorknobs to voice recognition software and augmentative communication devices (speech generating devices).

Journals

Assistive Technology: The Official Journal of RESNA
The goal of Assistive Technology is to publish material that fosters communication among individuals working in all aspects of the assistive technology arena including researchers, developers, clinicians, educators and consumers.
Disability and Rehabilitation: Assistive Technology
This journal publishes material on assistive technology devices, services, user experiences, education and training, and policies. They seek to encourage "a better understanding of all aspects of disability and to promote rehabilitation science, practice and policy aspects of the rehabilitation process."

Databases

Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=asn

Web Resources

Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA)
RESNA is a professional organization that promotes the health and well-being of people with disabilities through increasing access to technology solutions. They publish material on assistive technology and provide information on how to get involved.
Disability.gov's Guide to Assistive and Accessible Technologies
Disability.gov provides some "quick links" to materials on getting started with assistive and accessible technology, which includes funding resources and information for employers.
Americans with Disabilities Act Homepage
From the homepage: "The ADA is one of America's most comprehensive pieces of civil rights legislation that prohibits discrimination and guarantees that people with disabilities have the same opportunities as everyone else to participate in the mainstream of American life." This website is a guide to the ADA with main pages on law/regulation, design standards, technical assistance material, and enforcement.