"In addition to the documents themselves and the standard apparatus (contents, bibliography, and index), the volume also features a useful glossary of medieval terms, with 78 entries from 'Abbott' to 'Villein', thirty illustrations, a handsome photographic sequence of Wells Cathedral. The discursive matter is minimal, consisting in a three-paragraph Preface, a two-page Introduction, brief contextualization head-matter for each of the larger divisions, and even briefer commentary preceding the documents themselves" (From the Arthuriana review by Elizabeth S. Sklar)

" A comprehensive introduction that provides important background on the origins and spread of the plague is followed by nearly 50 documents organized into topical sections that focus on the origin and spread of the illness; the responses of medical practitioners; the societal and economic impact; religious responses; the flagellant movement and attacks on Jews provoked by the plague; and the artistic response. Each chapter has an introduction that summarizes the issues explored in the documents; headnotes to the documents provide additional background material." (From the publisher's description)

"All of the official documents relating to the case before the court are printed in a series of appendices to this volume, but its essence is contained in the texts of the 125 letters [...] the letters offer a precious series of insights into the multifarious links between Ireland and southern France under the ancien régime" (from the Irish Economic and Social History review by William Doyle)

"English translations are provided of thirty-three original documents, together with a brief, but highly informative, introduction to Columbus, 'the man, the voyages, the legacy'. This brief history with documents is explicitly, and effectively, aimed at college students, and is thus additionally provided with a genealogical table" (From the Bulletin of Spanish Studies review by John Edwards)

"The overarching contribution of Baylor's volume, implicit in its title, is the analytical framing and fusing of the German Reformation and German Peasant's War as two differentiated yet undeniably interrelated events" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Marvin L. Anderson)

The character and studies befitting a free-born youth / Pier Paolo Vergerio -- The study of literature / Leonardo Bruni -- The education of boys / Aeneas Silvius Piccolomini -- A program of teaching and learning / Battista Guarino.

"Concise and scholarly exegesis of major themes such as religion, central and regional government, and political dissent, are accompanied by the author's translations of extracts from seventeenth-century sources. As a result, the book transcends the traditional limitations of the seminar guide-that of a primer or crammer, and acts as an extremely useful teaching tool" (From theEuropean History Quarterly review by John Callow)

4 vols.: v. 1. General introduction. France /edited by Thomas E. Brennan. -- v. 2. Holy Roman Empire I / edited by Beat Kümin and B. Ann Tlusty. -- v. 3. Holy Roman Empire II / edited by Beat Kümin and B. Ann Tlusty. -- v. 4. America / edited by David Hancock and Michelle McDonald.

"For reasons that varied widely, leaders and thinkers from Mexico to the Ottoman Empire and from China to the Indian subcontinent sought to reform existing religions, develop new spiritual practices, promote innovative texts, and, on occasion, even create new religions. Presenting documents from different regions and different religious and philosophical traditions, including Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, Christianity, and Confucianism, this volume allows students to explore and analyze these varied transformations. A general introduction introduces the framework for examining the chapter case studies" (From the publisher's description)

A collection of documents meant to document and explore the 1572 massacre of French Huguenots.

"Rudolph M. Bell offers an alternative — and broader — portrait, highlighting daily life in Renaissance Rome, the center of western Christendom. Bell's introduction provides a look at this era from the bottom up, focusing on the streets of Rome to view the era's impact on ordinary citizens, the plight of social outcasts, and the dangers of urban life [...] Documents include poetry, short fiction, songs, letters, trial records, household inventories, a diary entry, a papal bull, and travelers' accounts. Additional pedagogy includes a chronology, questions for consideration, and selected bibliography" (From the publisher's description)

"Though many sources on Venetian history were already available in print, Chambers and Pullan's volume was an exceptionally well thought out and balanced collection that included 250 documents selected from archives across Italy and as far afield as Paris and London, many never before printed or never before printed in English translation" (From the Sixteenth Century Journal review by Robert A. Pierce)

4 vols. "Firsthand accounts of the lives of those who suffered through the Holocaust, those who perpetrated it, and those who witnessed it as bystanders. The Documenting Life and Destruction series combines a wide range of documents from different archival holdings with additional information to enhance the understanding of the events in this crucial period."--Publisher description.

1 vol. Revolution and War Communism -- The Old Village and the New Economic Policy -- Smychka : The Bond between City and Village -- Was Society Transformed? -- People and Power -- Whither Socialism? -- The Great Break.

"Nine diaries, mostly unpublished hitherto, have been selected by the editors of this anthology from several hundred lying in RGALI, the Russian State Library and other depositories. Translated with notes, they are set into context by an introduction, a chronicle of 1937 from contemporary newspapers and extracts from an angricultural worker's diary. One of these diaries is outstanding for the defiance of its author, a peasant, Arzhilovskii, who had for a time been part of the White Russian administration, and the diary itself was sufficient reasons for the authorities to have him shot" (From the Slavonic and East European Review article by Donald Rayfield)

"The Critical Edition -an ambiguous title- is a methodological exhuming of the Ur-text and its variants [...] In addition to the Netherlands' official authentication, we can now read a major portion of Anne's first diary [...] The Critical Edition is an unanticipated benefit for students of culture at the same time that it provides political and ethical power to all partisans who will never stop waging war against 'The War Against the Jews' " (From the Contemporary Sociology review by Hyman A. Enzer).

A collection of letters from the famous correspondence between Gandhi and Leo Tolstoy regarding the philosophy of nonviolent resistance.

Four distinguished Soviet historians evoke the daily life of St. Petersburg just at the point--1890 to 1914--when it was witnessing the last moments of its imperial incarnation and, simultaneously, the first shocks of social and technological change. Many of the 317 photographs have never before been published.

British personal narratives from the First World War.

2 vols. Correspondence. V. 1. 1828-1879. -- v. 2. 1880-1910.

5 vols.: v. 1. Intervention, famine relief, international affairs 1917-1933 -- v. 2. Propaganda, economic affairs, recognition 1917-1933 -- v. 3. Diplomatic relations, economic relations, propaganda, international affairs, neutrality 1933-1941 -- v.4. Economic relations military alliance, second front, plans for peace 1941-1945 -- v.5. The Cold War begins 1946-1949.

3 vols. "[...] these volumes include very diverse documents: speeches by Trotsky, Lenin, and Stalin; official statements by the Narko-mindel; decrees of the council of People's Commissars; a small number of treaties; interviews by Chichern, Trotsky, Rakovsky; and a small number of appeals broadcasts to foreign governments and to workers' groups" (From the Russian Review article by Donald G. Bishop)

2 vols. "The editors have sensibly divided the 1932-1934 period into three major components: the challenge of Japan and Germany, and the Soviet search for security arrangements; the crisis of Comintern policy, from the fiasco of the "ultra-left" line to the shift toward a broad "rightist" united front; and the corresponding change in Soviet diplomatic posture, including US recognition, Soviet entry into the league, and the Soviet-French rapprochement" (From the American Historical Review article by Alexander Dallin)

"The bulk of these two volumes deals with Europe and the Far East. Only about 200 pages have been devoted to the Near and Middle East [...] Although the bulk of material is translated from the Russian, occasional items have been gleaned from Japanese, Turkish, and other sources" (From the Middle East Journal review by Ivar Spector)

Originally published in French as: Adèle et Théodore ou lettres sur lʾéducation.