"The documents, taken from each major time period, are meant to be representative of the major varieties of original materials, including reports of the federal and state departments of agriculture, agricultural colleges, experiment stations, travel accounts, farm manuals, articles in farm journals, correspondence, diaries, and even advertisements" (From the Journal of American History review by Theodore Saloutos)

8 vols. "As befits the theme, the documents originate from a wide range of colonies as well as the British Isles, and address multiple political, economic, and religious issues from diverse, often conflicting points of view. Wisely, editors Sarson and Greene present the documents chronologically rather than thematically" (From the Choice review by R.P. Gildrie)

4 vols.: v. 1. Suffrage -- v. 2. Work and education -- v. 3. Health, birth control, and prostitution -- v. 4. Women’s clubs and settlements.

4 vols. A collection of documents detailing the history of the postal system in America.

4 vols. "They constitute an unrivalled collection of primary documentation relating broadly to Anglo-American migration, each volume organized chronologically with lively introductions and headnotes to each document" (From the Economic History Review article by Eric Richards)

8 vols. "These volumes indicate a continued intellectual subordination to Greene and Bailyn, and a continued British preoccupation with an administrative perspective that blocks any real engagement with political ideology. They embody no distinctive intellectual advance, and are unlikely to make any essential difference to the way in which the American Revolution is interpreted in either Britain or the United States" (From the English Historical Review article by J.C.D. Clark)

"British Visions of America is a fine work of intellectual history. It is clearly structured, well argued, deeply researched, and informative [...[ an excellent book that students of British and eighteenth-century intellectual history will profit from reading" (From the American Historical Review article by Frank Cogliano)

5 vols.: v. 1. 1600-1865.--v. 2. 1866-1932. 2 v.--v. 3. 1933-1973. 2 v.

4 vols. "This four volume set features more than sixty important essays, many of which are unavailable elsewhere. Scholars in many fields should welcome this collection of Material on a central topic in American intellectual history" (From the Nielsen Book Data review)

2 vols."Editors Jensen and Becker have made a contribution of the first magnitude by assembling within the covers of one volume almost 900 pages of documents-personal correspondence, public documents, pamphlets, and newspaper pieces- located in 38 document repositories" (From the Wisconsin Magazine of History review by Paul Goodman)

1 vol. Edited with an introduction. "the scope of the project is still ambitious, and its central tenet - that a complex nexus of economic, political, and social factors has informed the evolving discourses and practices of sexuality in the United States" (From the Early American Literature review by Brigitte Felder

4 vols. "Programmatically, The Enlightenment in America appears caught somewhere between personal "collection," in the author's term, and general "anthology." The collective aspects, the materials selected for inclusion, offer great range, but the choices themselves seem idiosyncratic, tending toward the esoteric and obscure rather than the canonical, with little or no justification given to selections made or not made." (From the Eighteenth Century Studies review by Robert A. Ferguson)

5 vols.: v. 1. From theocracy to secular, materialist commercial society -- v. 2. Individualism and the structure of power -- v. 3. Colonial money, credit and debt -- v. 4. Mercantilism and colonialism, pt. 1 -- v. 5. Mercantilism and colonialism, pt. 2.

"The correspondence from the most successful Irish-American trading firm of the colonial period forms an important archive for economic historians of the eighteenth century."--Publisher description.

" a valuable edited compilation of key documents designed to provide historical contextualization for the sweeping political and legal changes resulting from the revolutionary Civil War and Reconstruction era. [...] This (series) is designed to make an influential combination of well-known and relatively obscure documents available to modern researchers, grad students, undergraduate students, and the general public" (From the Louisiana History: Journal of the Louisiana Historical Association review by Matthew G. Stewart)

"Facsimiles of all the drafts of the Declaration of Independence made by Jefferson that are known to be extant and with them facsimiles of related documents which help to illustrate the successive steps in the development of the Declaration. The value of the volume is very materially enhanced by a twenty-five page analysis of the evolution of the text by Julian Boyd" (From the American Historical Review piece by Bernard Mayo)

2 vols. v. 1. The life of John Jay.--v. 2. Miscellaneous and official correspondence.

4 vols.: v. 1. The colonial period / edited by Timothy Lockley -- v. 2. The Revolutionary and early national period / edited by Timothy Lockley -- v. 3. The antebellum period / edited by Jonathan Daniel Wells -- v. 4. The Civil War and emancipation / edited by Peter Carmichael.

3 vols.: v. 1. From Roe v. Wade to the present -- v. 2. Historical development of abortion law -- v. 3. Modern writings on abortion.

4 vols. v. 1 Colonial America.-- v. 2. Changes in farming (continued).-- v. 3. War, Depression and the New Deal, 1914-1940.-- v. 4. The second American agricultural revolution,1941-1973.

4 vols.: v. 1. Suffrage -- v. 2. Work and education -- v. 3. Health, birth control, and prostitution -- v. 4. Women’s clubs and settlements.

"In the space of little more than 300 pages, readers can find documents pertaining to everything from the first European settlement of the United States in the early seventeenth century through to events in the twenty-first century [...] The organization of American Labor is impeccable, with six chronologically ordered sections containing over two hundred diverse documents" (From the Industrial and Labor Relations Review article by Tim Minchin)

"One hundred selections of about four pages each are included. They are divided into six chronological periods and twenty-three topics. While the book begins with the colonial period, it emphasizes twentieth century industrialization, immigration, and union organization campaigns. It contains almost twice as much material on the eighty years since 1890 as on the preceeding two centuries reflecting the availability of materials and probably student interest as well" (From the History Teacher review by Jonathon M. Wiener)

5 vols.: v. 1. 1600-1865.--v. 2. 1866-1932. 2 v.--v. 3. 1933-1973. 2 v.

4 vols. "This four volume set features more than sixty important essays, many of which are unavailable elsewhere. Scholars in many fields should welcome this collection of Material on a central topic in American intellectual history" (From the Nielsen Book Data review)

1 vol. Edited with an introduction. "the scope of the project is still ambitious, and its central tenet - that a complex nexus of economic, political, and social factors has informed the evolving discourses and practices of sexuality in the United States" (From the Early American Literature review by Brigitte Felder

3 vols.: v. 1. The courts, Congress, and the Second Amendment -- v. 2. Advocates and scholars, the modern debate on gun control -- v. 3. Special topics on gun control.

2 vols.: pt. 1. American journalism, 1941-1963 -- pt. 2. American journalism.

"Shulman has successfully put together a reader that illuminates clearly Emma Goldman's views and explicates her brand of anarchism. It is most appropriate for undergraduates in advanced courses in radicalism, feminism, and political thought" (From the History Teacher review by Joseph M. Gowaskie)

3 vols.: v. 1. Affirmative action before constitutional law, 1964-1977 -- v. 2. The Supreme Court "solves" the affirmative action issue, 1978-1988 -- v. 3. Judicial reaction to affirmative action, 1989-1997.

"African American Feminisms brings together writings that document distinctly African American feminist organizing from as early as the late 1820s through female benevolent and literary societies, as well as writings that document African American feminist participation in black political concerns such as emigration and colonization, discrimination in public transportation, and anti-lynching." (From the Publisher's description)

3 vols.: v. 1. The 14th & 15th Amendments and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 -- v. 2. Enforcing and challenging the Voting Rights Act of 1965 -- v. 3. Alternative redistricting, registering, and voting systems.

2 vols.: pt. 1. American journalism, 1941-1963 -- pt. 2. American journalism.

2 vols.: v. 1. The development of school busing as a desegregation remedy -- v. 2. The public debate over busing and attempts to restrict its use.

"Presenting signature works and lesser known pieces in a way that allows you to examine the issues its writers and artists faced, Harlem Renaissance creates a framework to analyze the movement’s contents and meaning, thinking about topics such as the implications of skin color and race and gender during this time, and the question of whether black artistic expression should be directed toward the black freedom struggle" (From the publisher's description)

"Fascinating and powerful, this collection includes four of the best-known examples: the lives of Frederick Douglass, Harriet Jacobs (alias Linda Brent), Mary Price, and Olaudah Equiano (alias Gustavus Vassa). These amazing stories are not only first-person histories of the highest caliber, they are also a unique literary form that has given birth to the spirit, vitality, and vision of America’s modern black writers." (From the publisher's description)

1 vol. Edited with introductory essay.

7 vols. v. 1. What the anti-Federalists were for -- v. 2. Objections of non-signers of the Constitution and Major series of essays at the outset -- v. 3. Pennsylvania -- v. 4. Massachusetts and New England -- v. 5. Maryland and Virginia and the South -- v. 6. New York and conclusion -- v. 7. Index.

2 vols. Edited with notes and a subject index. "Assembled here in chronological order are hundreds of newspaper articles, pamphlets, speeches, and private letters written or delivered in the aftermath of the Constitutional Convention. Along with familiar figures like Franklin, Madison, Patrick Henry, Jefferson, and Washington, scores of less famous citizens are represented, all speaking clearly and passionately about government. The most famous writings of the ratification struggle — the Federalist essays of Hamilton and Madison — are placed in their original context, alongside the arguments of able antagonists, such as “Brutus” and the “Federal Farmer.” (From Publisher's description)

1 vol. Edited with notes and a subject index. "There were many writers other than John Jay, James Madison, and Alexander Hamilton who, in 1787 and 1788, argued for the Constitution’s ratification. In a collection central to our understanding of the American founding, Friends of the Constitution brings together forty-nine of the most important of these “other” Federalists’ writings." (From the publisher's descriptions)

1840, William Henry Harrison -- 1960, John F. Kennedy -- 1964, Barry Goldwater -- 1968, Richard M. Nixon -- 1980, Ronald Reagan -- 1992, Bill and Hillary Clinton -- 2000, George W. Bush.

" [...] well-researched and reader-friendly Introduction, followed by 26 provocative, pertinent documents [...] The carefully selected writings, organized in chronological order, balance the views of policymakers, legislators, and commentators with the voices of individuals whose lives were shaped by the law." (From the publisher's description)

5 vols.: v. 1. Intervention, famine relief, international affairs 1917-1933 -- v. 2. Propaganda, economic affairs, recognition 1917-1933 -- v. 3. Diplomatic relations, economic relations, propaganda, international affairs, neutrality 1933-1941 -- v.4. Economic relations military alliance, second front, plans for peace 1941-1945 -- v.5. The Cold War begins 1946-1949.

1861-. Documentary history of U.S. foreign policy, organized by presidential administration. Some volumes are online (https://uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/frus/ ), others in hard copy. A list of all the volumes that have been issued is available on the Department of State web site: http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ho/frus/c4035.htm

Individual volumes are cataloged separately in the Library's online catalog, e.g.,
Foreign relations of the United States, 1952-1954 Vol. X, Iran, 1951-1954 (327.73055 UN32F Education Library)

Publication usually delayed about twenty years.

2 vols. "These consisted principally of memoranda on various matters of policy and correspondence with the President, with Colonel House, and also between Secretary Bryan and himself when Lansing was counselor from 1913 to 1915. There are also many copies of regular diplomatic papers and a voluminous personal correspondence between the Secretary of State and some of the ambassadors in European capitals, very revealing personal and confidential letters which were kept out of the embassy files, and which are much more illuminating and important than the routine embassy numbered dispatches to Washington" (From the American Historical Review article by Samuel Flagg Bemis)

3 vols.: v. 1. 1947 --- v. 2. 1948 -- v. 3. 1949.

"(Lawrence's) sourcebook is particularly well-suited to today's students- a cohort often pressed for time and eager for clear information. Instructors will also appreciate the documents, which lend themselves to critical thinking and problematizing a complex war" (From the History: Reviews of New Books article by Edmund F. Wehrle)

"The editors have assembled a selection of primary documents that once accompanied panoramas (the vast majority of which were lost long ago), declaring their intention their intention to represent those venues, panoramas, and texts that are already well known, as well as elements of the genre that have largely escaped attention." (From the Art Libraries Journal review by Sheila Klos)