Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
REMEMBER REFERENCE SOURCES
ALL the reference books. Search keywords, browse and sort by genre, whatever. Credo is magic.
Guides from the University Library
Urban Studies Abstracts
A font of potentially helpful sources, this database offers plenty of articles relating to the intersection of nature and urban life (and why nature is so important to urban life). Play around with search terms such as "nature" AND "urban environment" ; "urban wildlife" ; and "nature" AND "well-being."
Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)
Contains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
Academic Search Ultimate
Always a goodie. It searches numerous disciplines, so be smart with your keyword searches.
JSTOR Global Plants
High res photos of all the plants. Get their fancy names and a bit of their history; don't forget to use the sorting options, including by geography!
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology, with a broad scope of coverage ranging from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Basically, it's fancy.
It may be obvious, but don't forget about the rich trove of books the library has to offer! See Ms. Arnold for help with searching.
UIUC Online Catalog - Searches all UIUC libraries.
If a book is not available at UIUC . . .
- I-Share - Searches for items in more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois, including UIUC.
- WorldCat - Searches for items in libraries throughout the world.