Ask a Librarian
Social Science & Humanities Resources
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowMaintained by the U.S. Department of Education, the Educational Resources Information Center is a digital library of educational literature.
- POPLINEBibliographic database about population, family planning and related health issues. Includes links to free, full-text documents. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)Contains full-text publications and summaries of publications from the NCJRS Abstracts Database. "Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide."
- Brookings InstituteThe Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization which conducts and disseminates independent research. Research Topics include arms control, children and families, crime, economic development, global health, k-12 education, and social issues. Some reports must be purchased.
- Council on Foreign RelationsThe Council on Foreign Relation is an independent, membership organization, think tank, and publisher. It researches and publishes information about a variety of topics such as democracy and human rights, health, international peace and security, and society and culture.
- The Urban InstituteThe Urban Institute "gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues." Research areas include economy; education; health and healthcare; employment; immigrants; and race, ethnicity, and gender.
- Pew Charitable TrustThe Pew Research Center uses "impartial, fact-based public-opinion polling and other research tools to track important issues and trends." The Center's research covers multiple topics in the social sciences field including: demography, economics, immigration, politics, religion and social trends.
- Census Bureau DataProvided by the US Census Bureau, data.census.gov features population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Anthropological Index OnlineThe index to current periodicals held in the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a database of social science research and is composed of various specialized research networks. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 384,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 315,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts database indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Teacher Reference CenterProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital archive of more than 1,500 academic journals and other scholarly content. JSTOR Register & Read is a program offering free, read-online access to individuals who register for a MyJSTOR account. Register & Read includes approximately 75 journals.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Perseus Digital LibraryDigital collections of ancient texts and translations, secondary sources, maps, and images; provided by Tufts University.
- Making of AmericaMaking of America is a digital library of primary sources about "American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."
- European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750A free archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750.