Newspapers
- African Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive)Currently includes about 65 newspapers from Africa, covering late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Click here to view a complete title list for African Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive). Part of the World Newspaper Archive.
- Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library1821-1922. 24 newspapers. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Deutsche Kolonialzeitung1884-1922. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Gallica: Les principaux quotidiensFrench newspapers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Periodicals and Magazines
- African Mail1845-1917. Official organ of: the British Cotton Growing Association, and: and the West African Sanitation of the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- African World and Cape-Cairo Express1905-1913. Business weekly published in London, devoted to "“Commerce, Exploration, Mining, Finance.” Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Annales de l'Extrême Orient et de l'Afrique1878-1891. Official bulletin of the Société Académique Indo-Chinoise. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of influential British periodicals (literary, political, religious, and more) published between 1680 and 1940.
- Bulletin du Comite de l'Afrique francaise1891-1914. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window26 periodicals published between 1804 and 2009 by Britain's Church Missionary Society, the Church Missionary Society Mid-Africa Ministry, and the South American Missionary Society. No subject index for individual articles.
- 19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. Many periodicals reproduced in full color. Series 1: New Readerships (emphasizing women, children, humor, leisure, and sport). Series 2: Empire (emphasizing travel, anthropology, economics, evangelism, colonialism).
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Yale Divinity School Periodicals on Africa1890-1981. 9 missionary periodicals. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
Government Documents
- Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new windowBritish government documents, mostly from the Foreign Office, but also from the Colonial Office, the Dominions Office, and the War Office. "Confidential Prints" were diplomatic dispatches and related documents deemed sufficiently important to be printed and then circulated among government officials. The prints were grouped into series by geographical region, and then numbered consecutively, but after being transferred to the Public Records Office, the prints were organized according to the National Archives' system of provenance.
- British Parliamentary Papers: Colonies: AfricaA 70-volume *print* version of the Parliamentary papers relevant to Africa, organized by region and topic.
- Despatches from United States Consuls in Bathurst, Gambia, British Africa, 1857-1889NARA publication number T365, from Record Group 59. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Despatches from United States Consuls in Goree Dakar, French Africa, 1883-1906NARA publication number T573, from Record Group 59. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Despatches from United States Consuls in Grand Bassa, Liberia, 1868-1882NARA publication number M171, from Record Group 59. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Despatches from United States Consuls in Lourenco Marques, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1906NARA publication number T171, from Record Group 59. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Despatches from United States Consuls in Sierra Leone, British Africa, 1858-1906NARA publication number T438, from Record Group 59. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Despatches from United States Consuls in Zanzibar, British Africa, 1836-1906NARA publication number M468, from Record Group 59. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Exploration and Colonization of Africa1794-1844. Manuscripts from National Archives record series CO 2 (War and Colonial Department: Africa Exploration, etc.) and CO 392 (Africa Exploration, Entry Books). Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 House of Commons parliamentary papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
Thematic Research Collections
- Nineteenth Century Travel Literature1800-1899. 2,510 books from the Bryn Mawr College Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Archives of the Church of Uganda Online This link opens in a new windowPreviously available only on microfilm or on site at the Uganda Christian University, Mukono, this collection provides online access to 8 series of records from the Church of Uganda archives: Series 1, Office of the Bishop of Uganda (1882-1961); Series 2, Education Secretary General (1936-1964); Series 3, General Secretary (1924-1963); Series 4, Financial Secretary (1929-1963); Series 5, Archbishop's Office (1960-1993); Series 6, Provincial Secretary (1960-1995); Series 7, Mother’s Union (1960-1991); and Series 8, Provincial Treasurer (1960-1991). The records in this collection document the activity of the Anglican Church in Uganda from 1882 through 1995.
- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and ConquestPart of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. The African Mail, 1845-1917; the African World and Cape-Cairo Express, 1905-1913; the Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique, 1878-1891; the Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise, 1891-1914; a collection of colonial African newspapers from the British Library; despatches from United States consulates in Africa, 1818-1906; the Deutsche Kolonialzeitung, 1884-1922; correspondence and entry books from the British War and Colonial Department, 1794–1843, related to the exploration of Africa; a collection of books from the Kolonialbibliothek at the Universitätsbibliothek J.C. Senckenberg at Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main on German colonization of Africa; colonial censuses of Africa, 1820-1931; papers of Joseph Chamberlain relating to Africa; Methodist Episcopal Church African missionary correspondence, 1846-1912; travel narratives of African exploration; official statistical registers and blue books of Cape Colony; official statistical yearbooks and censuses of the Natal Colony; Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903; selected Africa collections from the Bodleian Library; selected British Cabinet papers on Africa; selected Colonial Office files on Africa; selected Dominions Office files on Africa; selected Foreign Office files on Africa; selected India Office records on colonial Africa; selected War Office files on Africa; selected maps and plans files on Africa; memoirs of colonial Africa; and Yale Divinity School periodicals on Africa.
- German Colonialism in Africa: Selections from the Kolonialbibliothek (Colonial Library) Collection1878-1910. 554 books from the Colonial Library of the Universitätsbibliothek J.C. Senckenberg at Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- International Population Census, Africa1820-1931. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Islamic Heritage Project280 manuscripts, 275 printed texts, and 50 maps from Harvard University's library and museum collections. Most texts come from Middle Eastern countries, with some coverage of North Africa, South Asia, Southeastern Asia, and Central Asia.
- Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.
- Maps of Africa to 1900Based on the Bassett and Scheven bibliography, Maps of Africa to 1900: A Checklist of Maps in Atlases and Geographical Journals in the Collections of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Over 2,400 maps.
- Missionary Files: Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912 (Africa)136 manuscripts (8,549 pages) from the General Commission on Archives and History of the United Methodist Church in Madison, New Jersey. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Personal Narratives and Reminiscences of the Exploration of Africa1836-1913. Selected from the collections of the Library of Congress. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Selected Africa Collections from the Bodleian Library1809-1903. Personal correspondence, notes, and photographs from the manuscript collections of the Bodleian Library of Commonwealth and African Studies at Rhodes House, University of Oxford, University of Oxford. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Selected Narratives and Reminiscences on Colonial Africa1792-1915. From the manuscript collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery Archive This link opens in a new windowBooks, periodicals, manuscripts, court records, and reference works documenting world slavery and the slave trade from the 16th century through the 19th.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave TradeShipping manifests from nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.