How to Find Journal Articles
1). If you are looking for a known item:
- Try using the Journal and Article Locator (JAL)
- Search the Library Catalog for the journal title and use the "Discover Full Text" button
2). If you are exploring a topic, try using an article index such as the Bibliography of Asian Studies.
Google Scholar
For Google fans, you may also try searching Google Scholar. If you are on campus and find an article of interest in Google Scholar, you will be able to use the "Discover UIUC" link to easily see if the library has access to the article. If we don't own the article, you can place an Interlibrary Loan request.
But is it Scholarly?
If you're in doubt as to whether the article you found is scholarly or not, the Undergraduate Library has put together a helpful guide to help you check.
Quick Article Search
One quick way to begin searching for articles is to use the "Articles" tab on the library homepage.
Simply type your subject in the search box and, if you wish, select the best subject from the drop down menu. For this project, I recommend "Arts & Humanities". This is as easy way to search multiple article databases at once.
Selected Indexes & Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. The American and international journals indexed include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: GreenFILE in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowMaterial ConneXion is a database of materials used in architecture and design. Users have unlimited access to comprehensive product information, technical specifications, application information, manufacturer and distributor contact information, and images for each of the materials and processes. Searchable by product, process, and application.
