Teachers' Workshop
The next professional development workshop for teachers was on Saturday, April 30, 2016 and the theme was "Utopian Communities":
We focused on visions and practices of community as sites for creating alternatives to the present and for the future--across the world and the United States.
The program for the 2016 workshop is available here.
Free Web Resources Related to 2016 Workshop Presentations for Teachers and Students
American Utopian Communities:
America and the Utopian Dream (Yale University Library)
Utopian Communities, 1800-1890 (Yale University Library)
Library of Congress Digital Exhibit about an American Colony in Jerusalem
Website on the town of Pullman, Illinois (created by the Pullman Museum)
"America's Company Towns, Then and Now" (an article accompanied by photographs from Smithsonian Magazine)
Life Magazine special issue on "Youth Communes," July 1969 (Google Books)
Resources on the Soviet Union:
"Soviet Russia in its Early Years" (A Collection of Photographs Presented to the New York Public Library)
Soviet Poster Collection (Duke University Library)
Resources on post-Arpartheid South Africa:
Resources from the South African Apartheid Museum
South African History Online Website Archive
Source Lab:
SourceLab is an initiative started by the History Department at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Its goal is two-fold: to improve the presentation of historical primary sources online and making these presentation of historical sources student-centered. Students will be in charge of writing and publishing the information accompanying these online historical sources.
Primary sources/lesson plans portal sites:
Guide to finding lesson plans (resource list compiled by the UIUC Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library --see "Social Studies" section)
History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library Digital Collections guide (digitized primary source collections --note that while offsite access to most of these collections is limited to UIUC-affiliated users, they can be used onsite by everyone)
Books for Teachers and Students
The Black Power Movement: Rethinking the Civil Rights-Black Power Era by Call Number: 323.1196073 B5612ISBN: 0415945968Publication Date: 2006-03-24
Rise Now and Fly to Arms: The Life of Henry Highland GarnetISBN: 0815318693Publication Date: 1994-11-01
This Is Serbia Calling: Rock N Roll Radio & Belgrade's Underground Resistance by ISBN: 1852426829Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Youth and Revolution in Tunisia by Call Number: DT266.7 .H669 2013ISBN: 1780324626Publication Date: 2013-07-11
Selected Freely Available Primary Sources
- (1843) Henry Highland Garnet, "An Address To The Slaves Of The United States""The National Negro Convention of 1843 was held in Buffalo, New York drawing some seventy delegates a dozen states. Among the delegates were young, rising leaders in the African American community including Frederick Douglass, William Wells Brown, Charles B. Ray and Charles L. Remond. Twenty-seven year old Henry Highland Garnet, a newspaper editor and pastor of a Presbyterian Church in Troy, New York, however captured most of the attention of the delegates with his 'An Address to the Slaves of the United States' in which he called for their open rebellion. The speech failed by one vote of being endorsed by the convention" (from blackpast.org).
- Black Panther's Ten-Point ProgramA set of ideals and guidelines for the Black Panther Party.
- David Burnett Photography--44 Days: the Iranian RevolutionDavid Burnett has been an award-winning photo journalist for decades. His photographs from the Vietnam War and the Iranian Revolution of 1979 are widely recognized.
- Early Soviet Posters from the International Institute of Social History"With the Russian Revolution of 1917, for the first time in history an entire nation is governed by a communist system. The posters from the first years of this government show revolutionary zeal and optimism of building a new society" (from iisg.nl).
- The Internet RevolutionFrom Wired (1997). A journalist provides an eye-witness account of the protests and unrest in Belgrade, Serbia.
- The Iranian Revolution in PhotosYou can access numerous photographs by clicking on their description from an extensive list.
- The Revolutionary Answer to the Negro Problem in US"The report...was delivered by Comrade Meyers in presenting the draft resolution on the Negro Question to the Thirteenth Convention of the Socialist Workers Party, July 1-5, 1948" (from marxists.org).
Films
Bringing Down a Dictator (2002)
Directed by Steve York, this documentary covers the protests in Serbia that led to the eventual overthrow of dictator Slobodan Milosevic.
Articles
- "How ISIS Succeeds on Social Media Where #StopKony Fails"From The Atlantic (March 2015).
- "New Study Quantifies the Use of Social Media in Arab Spring"By Catherine O'Donnell, for University of Washington News (September 2011).
- "Racial Harmony in a Marxist Utopia: How the Soviet Union Capitalised on US Discrimination"From The Guardian, by Steve Rose (Jan. 26, 2016).