Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Newspaper Guide for History 200C: American Classics

resources for newspaper assignment for Fall 2015 History 200C

Secondary Sources: A-J

  • African American National Biography. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. 8 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. 
  • Alexander, John K. Review of The Press of the Young Republic, 1783-1833 by Carol Sue Humphrey. William and Mary Quarterly 55, no. 1 (January, 1998): 167-170. 
  • Atwood, Roy Alden. "Handwritten Newspapers on the Iowa Frontier." Journalism History 7 (1980): 56-67. 
  • Baker, Cathleen A. From the Hand to the Machine: Nineteenth Century American Paper Mediums: Technologies, Materials, and Conservation. Ann Arbor, Mich.: Legacy Press, 2010. 
  • Baldasty, Gerald J. The Commercialization of News in the Nineteenth Century. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1992. 
  • Barnhurst, Kevin G., and John Nerone. The Form of News: A History. New York: Guilford Press, 2001. 
  • Barth, Gunther. City People: The Rise of Modern City Culture in Nineteenth-Century America. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1980. 
  • Bass, Harold F., Jr. Historical Dictionary of United States Poltical Parties. 2d ed. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 2009. 
  • Bohde, Cheryl D. Review of Journalistic Standards in Nineteenth-Century America by Hazel Dicken-Garcia. American Periodicals 1, no. 1 (Fall, 1991): 107-108. 
  • Brawley, Benjamin. Early Negro American Writers. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1935. 
  • Brier, Warren J. "The 'Flumgudgeon Gazette and Bumble Bee Budget.'" Journalism Quarterly 36 (1959): 317-320. 
  • Brigham, Clarence S. Journals and Journeymen: A Contribution to the History of Early American Newspapers. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1950 
  • Brown, Warren. Check List of Negro newspapers in the United States, 1827-1946. Jefferson City: School of Journalism, Lincoln University, 1946. 
  • Carey, Helen H., and Judith E. Greenberg. How to Read a Newspaper. New York: Franklin Watts, 1983. 
  • Carey, James W. "The Discovery of Objectivity." American Journal of Sociology 87, no. 5 (March, 1982): 1182-1188. 
  • Carmony, Donald F. "The Pioneer Press in Indiana." Indiana History Bulletin 31, no. 10 (Oct., 1954): 187-232. 
  • Cayton, Andrew. Review of The Press of the Young Republic, 1783-1833 by Carol Sue Humphrey. Historian 60, no. 3 (Spring, 1998): 634-635. 
  • Chambers, William Nisbit. Political Parties in a New Nation: The American Experience, 1776-1809. New York: Oxford University Press, 1963. 
  • Cloud, Barbara L. "A Party Press? Not Just Yet! Political Publishing on the Frontier." Journalism History 7, no. 2 (Summer, 1980): 54-73. 
  • Collins, Ross F. Review of The Press of the Young Republic, 1783-1833 by Carol Sue Humphrey. Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly 74, no. 1 (Spring, 1997): 218-219. 
  • Crouthamel, James L. Bennett's New York Herald and the Rise of the Popular Press. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 1989. 
  • Danky, James P., and Maureen E. Hady. Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982: Bibliography, Publishing Record, and Holdings. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984. 
  • ------. African American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998. 
  • Dann, Martin E. The Black Press, 1827-1890: The Quest for National Identity. New York: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1971. 
  • Davis, James E. Frontier Illinois. Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press, 1998. 
  • DeBow, James D.B. Statistical View of the United States, Embracing its Territory, Population--White, Free Colored, and Slave--Moral and Social Condition, Industry, Property, and Revenue. Washington, D.C.: A.O.P. Nicholson, 1854. 
  • Derks, Scott, and Tony Smith. The Value of a Dollar: Colonial Era to the Civil War, 1600-1865. Millerton, N.Y.: Grey House, 2005. 
  • Dicken-Garcia, Hazel. Journalistic Standards in Nineteenth-Century America. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1989. 
  • Dubin, Michael J. United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860 : the Official Results by County and State. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2002. 
  • Dyer, Carolyn Stewart. "Census Manuscripts and Circulation Data for Mid-19th Century Newspapers." Journalism History 7, no. 2 (Summer, 1980): 47-67. 
  • -----. "Economic Dependence and Concentration of Ownership Among Antebellum Wisconsin Newspapers." Journalism History 7, no. 2 (Summer, 1980): 42-46. 
  • Eaman, Ross. Historical Dictionary of Journalism. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 2009. 
  • Emery, Michael, and Edwin Emery. The Press and America: An Interpretive History of the Mass Media. 8th ed. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1996. 
  • Endres, Fred F. "'We Want Money and Must Have It': Profile of an Ohio Weekly, 1841-1847." Journalism History 7, no. 2 (Summer, 1980): 68-71. 
  • Field, Alexander J. "Newspapers and Periodicals: Number and Circulation By Type, 1850-1967." Historical statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present. Millennial ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. 4:1055.
  • Finkenbine, Roy E. "Newspapers." Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass. Edited Paul Finkelman. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. 2:446. 
  • Fogelson, Raymond D. "Sequoyah." In Encyclopedia of North American Indians, edited by Frederick E. Hoxie. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1996, 580-82. 
  • Folkerts, Jean. Review of Journalistic Standards in Nineteenth-Century America by Hazel Dicken-Garcia. in Journalism Quarterly 67, no. 3 (Autumn, 1990): 606-607. 
  • Franklin, Bob, Martin Hamer, Mark Hanna, Marie Kinsey, and John E. Richardson. Key Concepts in Journalism Studies. London: Sage, 2005. 
  • Garcia, Hazel D. "Letters Tell the News (Not 'Fit to Print?') About the Kentucky Frontier." Journalism History 7, no. 2 (Summer, 1980): 49-53. 
  • Garmoe, Kimberly. Review of The Popular Press, 1833-1865, by William E. Huntzicker. Jahrbuch für Kommunikationsgeschichte 2 (2000): 253. 
  • Giles, Vic, and F.W. Hodgson. Creative Newspaper Design. 2d ed. Oxford, Eng.: Focal Press, 1996. 
  • Gollin, Albert E. "Critiques and Celebrations of the Newsmaking Process: An Expository Review." Public Opinion Quarterly 44, no. 2 (Summer, 1980): 276-283. 
  • Green, Ralph. "Early American Power Printing Presses." Studies in Bibliography 4 (1951-1952): 143-153. 
  • Hage, George S. Newspapers on the Minnesota Frontier, 1849-1860. [St. Paul]: Minnesota Historical Society, 1967. 
  • Haines, Michael R. "Population Characteristics." In Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present, 1:17-25. Edited by Richard Sutch and Susan B. Carter. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. 
  • Hall, Linda, ed. Acronyms, Initialisms, and Abbreviations Dictionary. 40th ed. Detroit: Gale, 2008. 
  • Hamilton, Milton W. 1936. The Country Printer: New York State, 1785-1830. New York: Columbia University Press, 1936. 
  • Harnett, Richard M. Wirespeak: Codes and Jargon of the News Business. San Mateo, Calif.: Shorebird Press, 1997. 
  • Hodges, Willis. Free Man of Color: The Autobiography of Willis August Hodges. Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1982. 
  • Hoffert, Sylvia D. Jane Grey Swisshelm: An Unconventional Life, 1815-1884. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2004. 
  • Howe, Daniel Walker. What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2007. 
  • Humphrey, Carol Sue. The Press of the Young Republic, 1783-1833. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996. 
  • Huntzicker, William E."Historians and the American Frontier Press." American Journalism 5, no. 1 (1988): 28-45. 
  • -----. The Popular Press, 1833-1865. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. 
  • Hutt, Allen, and Bob James. Newspaper Design Today: A Manual for Professionals. London: Lund Humphries, 1989. 
  • Hutton, Frankie. The Early Black Press in America, 1827 to 1860. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood, 1993. 
  • Jamison, David L. "Newspapers and the Press." In Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century, 2:418:426. Edited by Paul Finkelman. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. 
  • Jansen, Reamy. Review of Discovering the News by Michael Schudson. Radical Teacher 24 (1983): 32-33. 
  • Jansen, Sue Curry. Review of Discovering the News by Michael Schudson. Theory and Society 10, no. 1 (January, 1981): 143-148. 
  • Junger, Richard. Becoming the Second City: Chicago's Mass News Media, 1833-1898. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2010. 

Secondary Sources: K-W

  • Karolevitz, Robert F. Newspapering in the Old West: A Pictorial History of Journalism and Printing on the Frontier. Seattle: Superior Publishing, 1965. 
  • Kennedy, Joseph Camp Griffith. Catalogue of the Newspapers and Periodicals Published in the United States: Showing the Town and County in Which the Same are Published, How Often Issued, Their Character, and Circulation. New York: John Livingston, 1852. 
  • Kielbowicz, Richard B. News in the Mail: The Press, Post Office, and Public Information, 1700-1860s. New York: Greenwood, 1989. 
  • -----. "News Gathering by Mail in the Age of the Telegraph: Adapting to a New Technology." Technology and Culture 28, no. 1 (Jan., 1987): 26-41. 
  • Kleppner, Paul. The Third Electoral System, 1853-1892: Parties, Voters, and Political Cultures. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1979. 
  • Knight, Oliver. Review of Discovering the News by Michael Schudson. Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science 443 (May, 1979): 175-176. 
  • Leonard, Thomas C. Review of Discovering the News by Michael Schudson. Journal of American History 66, no. 2 (September, 1979): 365-366. 
  • Littlefield, Daniel F., Jr., and James W. Parins. American Indian and Alaska Native Newspapers and Periodicals, 1826-1924. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984. 
  • Lund, John V. Newspaper Advertising. New York: Prentice Hall, 1947. 
  • Lyon, William H. The Pioneer Editor in Missouri, 1808-1860. Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1965. 
  • -----. "The Significance of Newspapers on the American Frontier." Journal of the West 19, no. 2 (Apr., 1980): 3-13. 
  • McCormick, Richard P. The Second American Party System: Party Formation in the Jacksonian Era. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1966. 
  • Marzolf, Marion. Up From the Footnote: A History of Women Journalists. New York: Hastings House, 1977. 
  • Mayer, Gordon. "Party Rags? Politics and the News Business in Chicago's Party Press, 1831-1871." Journalism History 32 (2006): 138-146. 
  • Miller, Greg, Elizabeth Novickas, and Gerry Labedz. The Daily Illini Design Guide. Champaign, Ill.: Illini Publishing, 1976. 
  • Miller, John W. "Frontier Newspapers and National News: Indiana in the Early Nineteenth Century." Maryland Historian 14, no. 2 (Fall/Winter, 1983): 1-13. 
  • Mitchell, Catherine C. Review of The Press of the Young Republic, 1783-1833, by Carol Sue Humphrey. Journal of the Early Republic 17, no. 2 (Summer, 1997): 322-323. 
  • Moen, Daryl R. Newspaper Layout and Design: A Team Approach. 4th ed. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 2000. 
  • Moran, James. Printing Presses: History and Development from the Fifteenth Century to Modern Times. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1973. 
  • Moroney, Rita L. History of the U.S. Postal Service, 1775-1984. Washington, D.C.: The U.S. Postal Service, 1985. 
  • Mott, Frank Luther. American Journalism: A History, 1690-1960. 3d ed. New York: MacMillan, 1962. 
  • Nerone, John. The Culture of the Press in the Early Republic, Cincinnati, 1793-1848. New York: Garland, 1989. 
  • -----. "The Mythology of the Penny Press." Critical Studies in Mass Communication 4 (1987): 376-404. 
  • Nerone, John, and Kevin G. Barnhurst. "U.S. Newspaper Types, the Newsroom, and the Division of Labor, 1750-2000." Journalism Studies 4, no. 4 (2003): 435-449. 
  • Nord, David Paul. Communities of Journalism: A History of Newspapers and Their Readers. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2001. 
  • North, Simon Newton Dexter. A Century of Population Growth: From the First Census of the United States to the Twelfth, 1790-1900. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1909. 
  • ------. History and Present Condition of the Newspaper and Periodical Press of the United States: With a Catalogue of the Publications of the Census Year. Washington, D.C.: United States Government Printing Office, 1884. 
  • Okker, Patricia. Our Sister Editors: Sarah J. Hale and the Tradition of Nineteenth Century American Women Editors. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1995. 
  • Page, Robert. Review of The Popular Press, 1833-1865 by William E. Huntzicker. Civil War History 45, no. 3 (September, 1999): 282-283. 
  • Pasley, Jeffrey L. Review of The Popular Press, 1833-1865 by William E. Huntzicker. Journal of the Early Republic 21, no. 2 (Summer, 2001): 387-390. 
  • Payne, George Henry. "Emigration and the Papers of the West." In History of Journalism in the United States, 200-216. New York: D. Appleton, 1920. 
  • Phillips, E. Barbara. Review of Discovering the News by Michael Schudson. Contemporary Sociology 9, no. 6 (November, 1980): 812-813. 
  • Potter, Vilma Raskin. A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors, 1827-1946. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1993. 
  • Pride, Armistead Scott, and Clint C. Wilson, II. A History of the Black Press. Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press, 1997. 
  • Pryor, Lewis A. "The 'Adin Argus': The End of the Hand Press Era of Country Weeklies." Pacific Historian 17, no. 1 (January, 1973): 1-18. 
  • Reader, Bill. "Local News." In Encyclopedia of American Journalism, 273-275. New York: Routledge, 2008. 
  • Reilly, Tom. War with Mexico! America's Reporters Cover the Battlefront. Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 2010. 
  • Roberts, Robert North, and Scott John Hammond. Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004. 
  • Ross, Ryan A. Early Illinois Newspapers and Job Printers: The Terence A. Tanner Collection. Urbana: The Graduate School of Library and Information Science, 2010. 
  • Russo, David J. The Origins of Local News in the U.S. Country Press, 1840s-1870s. Lexington, Ky: Association for Education in Journalism, 1980. 
  • Salmon, Lucy Maynard. The Newspaper and the Historian. New York: Oxford University Press, 1923. 
  • Saxton, Alexander. "Problems of Race and Class in the Origins of the Mass Circulation Press." American Quarterly 36 (1984): 211-234. 
  • Schiller, Dan. Objectivity and the News: The Public Rise of Commercial Journalism. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1981. 
  • Schilpp, Madelon Golden, and Sharon M. Murphy. Great Women of the Press. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1983. 
  • Schlesinger, Arthur M. Jr. Running for President: the Candidates and their Images. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1994. 
  • Schudson, Michael. Discovering the News: A Social History of American Newspapers. New York: Basic Books, 1978. 
  • Scott, Franklin W. Newspapers and Periodicals of Illinois, 1814-1879. Chicago: Lakeside Press, 1910. 
  • Silver, Rollo G. The American Printer, 1787-1825. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1967. 
  • Smith, Culver H. The Press, Politics, and Patronage: The American Government's Use of Newspapers, 1789-1875. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1977. 
  • "A Staunch Foe of Slavery" [Obituary for Jane Grey Swisshelm].” New York Times, 23 July, 1884, p. 5. 
  • Stevens, George G. New York Typographical Union No. 6: Study of a Modern Trade Union and its Predecessors. Albany, N.Y.: J.B. Lyon, 1913. 
  • Sutton, Albert A. Design and Makeup of the Newspaper. New York: Prentice-Hall, 1948. 
  • Tanner, Terence A. "Newspapers and Printing Presses in Early Illinois." American Periodicals 3 (1993): 100-113. 
  • Tebbel, John W. The Compact History of the American Newspaper. Rev. ed. New York: Hawthorn, 1969. 
  • Tucher, Andie. Froth and Scum: Truth, Beauty, Goodness, and the Ax Murder in America's First Mass Medium. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1994. 
  • Washburn, Patrick S. Review of Journalistic Standards in Nineteenth-Century America by Hazel Dicken-Garcia. American Historical Review 96, no. 2 (April, 1991): 605. 
  • Wilcox, David F. Quincy and Adams County: History and Representative Men. Chicago: Lewis Publishing, 1919.&
  • Winfield, Betty Houchin. Review of Journalistic Standards in Nineteenth-Century America by Hazel Dicken-Garcia. Journal of American History 77, no. 4 (March, 1991): 1345-1346.