About the University of Illinois Archives
The University Archives was established in 1963 and includes more than 25,000 cubic feet of office records, publications, and personal papers. The Archives recognizes and strengthens faculty and student ties to the university as a scholarly community. While the archives are most useful for modern American intellectual, cultural, and social history, they contains research material for the educator, political scientist, sociologist, economist, and journalist.
Program Areas
The University Archives is strong in the history of science and technology, agriculture, architecture, athletics, librarianship, education, and student life.
Founded in 1989, the Student Life and Culture Archival Program collects, preserves, and makes available materials documenting student life and culture in the United States and at the University of Illinois.
The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music acquires and preserves archival records and historical artifacts in multiple media formats that document American's local and national music history and its diverse cultures.
Association Archives
The University of Illinois Archives manages the archives and non-current records of a number of associations and professional organizations:
- Advertising Council Archives
- Alpha Lambda Delta Archives
- Alpha Tau Omega Archives
- American Association of Law Libraries Archives
- American Library Association Archives
- Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA)
- Association of American Law Schools Archives
- National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture
- National Association of Farm Broadcasters
- National Council of Teachers of English
- National Panhellenic Conference Records
- Phi Eta Sigma Archives
- Special Libraries Association Archives
- Third Armored Division Association Archives