Background Information
Indigenous refers to people who have a historical continuity with pre-invasion and pre-colonial societies that developed on their territories and consider themselves distinct from other sectors of the societies now prevailing on those territories, or parts of them. Use the following sources to learn more about indigenous cultures.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowThis tool contains information from many different reference books and publications. A search for "indigenous cultures" brings up topics of indigenous peoples' rights, Latin American indigenous cultures, indigenous people in Australia, and much more.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis virtual library provides reference information. As an example, doing a search for the Ndowe indigenous group (from Equatorial Guinea) brings up information on the country, religious practices, culture, daily life, and much more.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural AnthropologyThis provides anthropological arguments and history on the subject of anthropology. This version also has a focus on Latin American and Japanese anthropology.
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450Provides information on colonialism and imperialism. To find information on indigenous cultures, a search for "indigenous" brings up topic overview pages for various parts of the world and their indigenous cultures.
- Encyclopedia of Race and RacismThis encyclopedia provides information on the anthropological, economic, and historical aspects of race and racism. Information on indigenous cultures includes entries about Australia's aboriginal peoples, American Indians, violence against indigenous peoples in Latin America, and other relevant topics.