LibGuides: Anthropology 515IA: Illinois Anthropology: Finding Data/Statistics

Need help with Data/Statistics?

The following campus and library services are available to help you find and use datasets in your research, and/or to collect and analyze your own original research data:

ATLAS
ATLAS supports the teaching and research needs of students and faculty in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (LAS). They provide a range of statistics and GIS services free to LAS students/faculty.
Data Services @ UIUC Library
Services offered include acquiring data sets needed for teaching and research; locating, downloading and preparing data for secondary analysis; identifying and creating course materials and teaching tools (including customized data sets drawn from various data repositories) and consulting about software problems
Intro to Data Management Library Workshop Guide
Online library guide to data management, including slides from the Intro to Data Management Workshop from the UIUC Library Savvy Researcher series, and links to data management tools and best practice guides.

Finding Data and Statistics

There are many potential sources of social science research data, depending on who collected the data, where they chose to deposit it, and the topic of the research. The Social Sciences, Health and Education Data and Statistical Sources guide provides a list of the major social science data collection websites as well as links and descriptions to numerous sources of U.S. and international statistics. Below are links to a few key resources you may wish to search for research data related to your topic of interest.

Social Science, Health, and Education Data and Statistical Sources
This guide will give you a brief introduction to resources you can use to find social science, health and educations statistics and data for your research.
Registry of Anthropological Data Wiki
"The Registry of Anthropological Data is a resource for anthropologists and any other researchers interested in culture, history, language, and human life in general. It represents a wide-ranging list of fieldnotes, ethnographic source materials, and data in countless digital and physical archives, produced by scores of anthropologists over the last century."
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.
Open Context
"Open Context provides a platform for researchers to publish their primary field data and documentation" in archaeology and cultural heritage-related fields.
re3data.org
re3data.org is a free, searchable registry of research data repository websites. Search by keyword or browse by subject, content type (type of data), or country affiliation to locate possible sources of research data relating to your subject area of interest.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) "maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields."
more...less...
Source: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/content/membership/about.html, accessed 9/10/2013
Explore Census Data
This government website provides easy access to US census data. It brings together demographic, economic, environmental, health, and other datasets that are usually separated by geography and/or organization.