Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these databases to access articles through keyword or journal searches. IIMP and Music Index will provide more coverage of commercial journals while RILM will provide a more academic approach.
Music Periodicals Database
IIMP Full Text is a music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
RILM coveres articles in over 11,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music.
There are four major types of journals to be aware of when researching rap and hip-hop:
1. Commercial journals such as VIBE, Billboard, and The Source.
2. General new sources such as the New York Times and The Village Voice.
3. Scholarly journals such as Popular Music and Popular Music and Society.
4. African American Studies publications such as Journal of Black Studies and Ebony.
Blues and Soul
Publication Date: 1984-1991
Volumes located at Oak St. and Main Stacks.
Publication Date: 1990-
MPAL has volumes dated: 1969-1976.
Publication Date: 2011-2012
MPAL has volumes dated 1994-2011.
Publication Date: 2007-2009
Oak Street has volumes dated: 2001-2009.
Los Angeles Times
Publication Date: 1881-2009
See also: www.latimes.com/entertainment/music/
Publication Date: 1990-2012
Main Stacks has volumes: 1933-1989.
New York Times
Publication Date: 1857-
See also: www.nytimes.com/pages/arts/music/index.html
The Village Voice
Publication Date: 1997-
Newspaper Library has volumes dated: 1955-2004.