Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Third Armored Division Archives,The War in Photography: 3AD Archives

Third Armored Division Archives

The 3rd Armored Division Association Archives at the University of Illinois is a valuable resource for researching the 3rd Armored Division and the First Army. Within the 3rd Armored Division Archives are sources such as personal diaries, army records, and recollections made after the war.  The wide range of items donated by veterans of all units within the division has made the 3rd Armored Divisions Archives a comprehensive historical record of one of the finest U.S. army divisions in World War II.

The archives is still growing, and it will continue to serve as a unique repository for documenting the lives, activities, and experiences of the soldiers who served in the Third Armored Division.

For Researchers

Researchers may contact the Third Armored Division Archives by emailing their request to illiarch@illinois.edu or by calling (217-333-7841) during these hours: 

Mon. - Tues. and Thurs. - Fri.: 
8:30 - 12:00 and 1:00- 5:00

Wednesday: 
10:00 - 12:00 and 1:00- 5:00
 

Researchers who would like to research the Third Armored Division Archives in person should call the same number to arrange a visist. The 3AD Archives collection is located at the Student Life and Culture Archive of the University of Illinois. That address is 1707 South Orchard Urbana, IL, 61801.

Research Guides

The link below will direct you to the Third Armored Division Archives Guide with further links to the collection description and inventory, the division's chronology, and the Third Armored Division Association's website.

Third Armored Division Archives Guide