LibGuides: Stage Lighting: Finding Video

Introduction

The Music & Performing Arts Library has thousands of recordings available to stream online or play on DVD!

To search for video in the catalog, start with a keyword search for a specific performance or subject in the library catalog and use the "Material Type" filter on the advanced search screen to restrict your search to "Video/Film".

When you click into the item records for different materials, check the material's location and format information to see if it is available to stream or if it exists in physical form on DVD or VHS. For more help distinguishing identifying format information, see our Introduction to Audio & Video Formats.

If you're hoping to browse, see the recommendations listed below for a place to start!

Streaming Resources

The Music & Performing Arts Library subscribes to many databases with performing arts content available to stream that may be of use if you are looking to watch plays to study examples of stage lighting. We are highlighting two resources below to get you started, but you should also check out our library guide to streaming media for a full list of collections!

Streaming Media: Performing Arts Resources
A guide to streaming media for the performing arts, covering both Library subscription resources and publicly available collections.

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre Plus includes recordings of classic, contemporary and international live theatre performances, interviews exploring the dramatic, technical theatre-making process as well as experimental, post-dramatic and applied theatre, and essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
This browsable and searchable database contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.