Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Sociology 480: Methods of Field Research: Qualitative Methods: Sociological Abstracts Database

Sociological Abstracts - Key Features

Sociological Abstracts is the preeminent database covering scholarly publications in sociology, 1963-present. Through a search of this database, you will find article citations and abstracts from journals in sociology and closely related disciplines, as well as citations for books, dissertations, and other relevant content.

Sociological Abstracts Search Screen

Sociological Abstracts Search Screenshot with major features labeled

A.     Use this dropdown to combine search terms (AND, OR, NOT)

B.     Use this dropdown to choose what part of the article’s database entry you will search. Ex. All fields (keyword); Subject Heading (Thesaurus terms); etc.

C.     Check to limit results to Peer-reviewed articles

D.     Use the Thesaurus to find Subject Headings to use in your search

E.      Use this dropdown to add other Proquest databases and search them simultaneously

 

Sociological Abstracts Results Screen

Sociological Abstracts Results Screen with major features labeled

F.     Use these suggested Subject headings related to your current search to do a new search using those headings.

G.     Use these options to narrow your search results by type of source, subject heading, date, etc.

H.     Click the Discover Full Text link to find the full text of the article

I.     Use these links to e-mail or print your selected citations, view them in the browser (“Cite”) or send them (“Export”) to a citation manager (ie. Refworks).