Find Books
Materials in I-Share are available to students, staff, and faculty of I-Share member institutions.
Search WorldCat to find books in libraries worldwide.
- Resilient Cities in I-ShareSample search for resilient cities or resilient communities in the I-Share catalog
- Resilient Cities in WorldCatSample search in WorldCat for resilient cities or urban resilience. If items are not available in your library, you can use your library's Interlibrary Loan service to acquire materials from other libraries.
Selected References
Disaster Management: Enabling Resilience by
Publisher description: The contributions to this book focus on resilience thinking along 4 broad themes: Urban Domain; Cyber Domain; Organizational/Social domain; and Socio-ecological domain. This book would serve as a valuable reference for courses on risk, crisis and disaster management, international development, social innovation and resilience. This will be of particular interest to those working in the risk, crisis and disaster management domain as it will provide valuable insights into enabling resilience. This book will be well positioned to inform disaster management professionals, policy makers and academics on strategies and perspectives regarding disaster resilience.
ISBN: 9783319088198Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Resilience in Ecology and Urban Design by
Resilience, the ability of complex systems to adapt to changing conditions, is a key frontier in ecological research and is especially relevant in creative urban design, as urban areas exemplify complex systems. With something approaching half of the world’s population now residing in coastal urban zones, many of which are vulnerable both to floods originating inland and rising sea levels, making urban areas more robust in the face of environmental threats must be a policy ambition of the highest priority.
ISBN: 9789400753419Publication Date: 2013-01-13
Resilient Cities Research Report by
Publisher description: Resilience increases when cities have more adaptive capacity and decreases when they are more vulnerable. Exponential population and economic growth is placing so much pressure on resources that resilience, which has for so long been a free gift of history, urgently needs to be rethought. By quantifying the resilience of 50 of the world’s most important cities we, at Grosvenor, hope to contribute to this vital debate.
Publication Date: 2014
Resilient Sustainable Cities by
Publisher description: Provides an integrated approach for long term future planning within the context of the city as a whole system. The book provides practical and conceptual insights for practitioners, researchers and students on how to deliver cities which are resilient to ' slow burn' issues and achieve sustainability.
ISBN: 9780415816212Publication Date: 2013-12-09
The Responsive City by
Publisher description: The Responsive City is a guide to civic engagement and governance in the digital age that will help leaders link important breakthroughs in technology and data analytics with age-old lessons of small-group community input to create more agile, competitive, and economically resilient cities. Featuring vivid case studies highlighting the work of pioneers in New York, Boston, Chicago and more, the book provides a compelling model for the future of governance. The book will help mayors, chief technology officers, city administrators, agency directors, civic groups and nonprofit leaders break out of current paradigms to collectively address civic problems. The Responsive City is the culmination of research originating from the Data-Smart City Solutions initiative, an ongoing project at Harvard Kennedy School working to catalyze adoption of data projects on the city level. The book is co-authored by Professor Stephen Goldsmith, director of Data-Smart City Solutions at Harvard Kennedy School, and Professor Susan Crawford, co-director of Harvard's Berkman Center for Internet and Society. Former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg penned the book’s foreword.
ISBN: 9781118910900Publication Date: 2014
Sustainable and Resilient Communities by
Publisher description: Many of today's communities face an unprecedented struggle to adapt and maintain their environmental, economic, and social well-being in an era beleaguered by fiscal constraints, uncertainty about energy prices and supplies, rapid demographic shifts, and accelerated climate impacts. This step-by-step guidebook for urban planners and urban designers explains how to create and implement an actionable plan for making neighborhoods, communities, and regions more environmentally healthy, resource-conserving, and economically resilient. Sustainable and Resilient Communities delineates measures for repairing, retrofitting, and transforming our built environments and supporting systems-transportation, energy, water, natural environment, food production, solid waste, and economics
ISBN: 9780470536476Publication Date: 2011-03-22
Swarm Planning by
Publisher description: This book shows that the problem of climate adaptation, which is described in social planning terms as ‘wicked,’ is at odds with the contemporary practice of spatial planning. The author proposes a new adjusted framework which is more adaptable to unpredictable, wicked, dynamic and non-linear processes. The inspiration for this new method is the behaviour of swarms: bees, ants, birds and fish are capable of self-organization, which enables the system to become less vulnerable to sudden environmental changes. The framework proposed in Swarm Planning consists of these four elements: Two levels of complexity, the first being the whole system and the second its individual components. Each of these has different attributes for adapting to change. Five layers, consisting of networks, focal points, unplanned space, natural resources and emerging occupation patterns. Each layer has its own spatial dynamic, and each is connected to a spatial scale. Non-linear processes, which emerge in different parts of the framework and include emerging patterns, connectedness and tipping points among others. Two planning processes; the first, ‘from small to large’ works upward from the slowest changing elements to more rapidly-changing ones. The second, ‘on the list of partners’ addresses each layer from networks through emerging occupation patterns. Swarm Planning applies this framework to a series of pilot studies, and appraises its performance using criteria for an adaptive landscape. The results show that the use of the Swarm Planning Framework reduces the vulnerability of landscapes as well as the impact of climate hazards and disasters, improves response to unexpected hazards and contains adaptation strategies.
ISBN: 9789400771512Publication Date: 2013-09-20
Find articles
- Easy SearchAn easy way to find articles and more by searching multiple databases simultaneously.
- Databases by Environmental ScienceRecommended databases for finding articles on environmental science topics.
- Databases for Urban & Regional PlanningRecommended databases for finding articles on planning topics.