Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 498B: U.S. Cultures of Space and Place, 1830-2000

A course guide.

Using Newspapers on Microfilm


ST 200 Viewer Scanner


In addition to the traditional microfilm viewer printers, the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library owns several digital microform viewer-scanners. With these new devices, you can convert microfilm and microfiche to PDF files that can be easily saved to a disk or emailed to yourself. 

1. Digitized Historical Newspapers

For the most complete information on digitized, historical newspapers, consult our Historical Newspapers guide. Below is a list of titles and collections that will be most useful for this class.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

(ProQuest titles can be cross-searched.)


ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers

(ProQuest titles can be cross-searched.)

Chronicling America

Large collection of digitized newspapers with good coverage of the post-Civil War era and early 20th century. Includes subject guides (e.g. Yosemite National Park, Roller Skating Craze).

Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections

Over one million pages of historic newspaper and trade journal content from Illinois and across the United States. Includes collections of historic Illinois newspapers, entertainment trade journals, collegiate newspapers, and farm newspapers.

Farm, Field, and Fireside

Collection of farm newspapers with excellent coverage of the post-Civil War era and early 20th century. Includes supplementary research guides, including one on finding articles in farm newspapers about Indian Lands.

2. Current Newspapers

Use these sources to access content from the past 5 to 10 years, unless otherwise noted. For much more visit our Current Newspapers Page.

3. Newspapers on Microfilm

The History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library has an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. In addition to the Online Catalog, historical newspapers on microfilm can be found by searching the UIUC Library Newspaper Database. You can search this database by city or country of publication and by date of publication, so you can identify which newspapers we have for a particular city, or for a particular city and a specific year.