Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

African American Studies 495: Senior Thesis Seminar

A course guide.

1. Digital Collections

Black Studies in Video.

Black Studies Center: International Index to Black Periodicals (1902-present), the Marshall Index to Black Periodicals (1940-1946), Black Literature Index (1827-1940), the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, and 6 major African-American newspapers. The 6 newspapers are also included in ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers. Note that ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers has even more African American newspapers than can be found here.

Oxford African American Studies Center: Major reference works, along with supplementary primary source material.

Black Thought and Culture: Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, and letters. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects. Colonial times to the present.

African American Communities: Newspapers, periodicals, oral histories, organizational records, personal papers, pamphlets, and ephemera that document the history of African American communities in Chicago, St. Louis, Atlanta, New York, North Carolina. Highlights of the collection include the Chicago Urban League records (1917-1985), the Town of Pullman records (1876-1919), the Lea Demarest Taylor papers on housing and race relations, 1893-1966, the Urban League of St. Louis records, and an extensive oral history collection. Collection is organized around five broad themes: Desegregation, Urban renewal and housing problems, Civil rights activities and protests, Race relations and community integration, and African American culture.

Black Abolitionist Papers: Approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists.

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1: 36 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Bayard Rustin Papers, the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, the Papers of A. Philip Randolph, the Records of the American Committee on Africa, the Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Claude A. Barnett Papers, and more. More information.

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records: Online access to 37 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including East St. Louis Riot of 1917; Martin Luther King Jr. FBI Files, Parts I and II; Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929; Several series of records on civil rights during the Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon Carter, and Bush administrations; and more. More information.

History Makers: Filmed, oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: Shipping manifests from nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.

Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice: Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps covering the period 1490 to 2007.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Trans-National Archive: Books, periodicals, manuscripts, court records, and reference works documenting world slavery and the slave trade from the 16th century through the 19th.

Registers of Signatures of Depositors in Branches of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company, 1865-1874. Signatures of, and personal information about, depositors in the Freedman's Saving and Trust Company, which was established by Congress for the benefit of freed slaves.

Rock & Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest: Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Archival material from the Browne Popular Culture Library (Bowling Green State University), the Bancroft Library (University of California, Berkeley), the British National Archives, the University of Sussex Library, and the Rock Source Archive.

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974: Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, alternative press periodicals, and scholarly commentary.

2. Microform Collections

Listed here are some of the major microform research collections for African American studies. For a more complete list, consult the African American Studies Research Center's guide to Primary Sources About African Americans on Microfilm.