Background Information
Unemployment rates across the U.S. and in much of the Western world are an issue of concern for many people. Use the following resources to learn more about unemployment and the social, political, and economic issues surrounding it.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowGives overviews of major topic areas. Includes articles, lists of other resources, and Pro and Con arguments for most topics.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesHighlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday LawThe Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state. Each entry focuses on connecting theory of law to everyday practice.
- Gale Encyclopedia of American LawProvides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History WorldwideProvides in-depth analysis of more than 300 key events in labor history over the last 200 years, focusing on the relevance of these events to both the labor movement as a whole and to societal changes around the world.
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic HistoryCovers concepts related to business and labor history, including labor movements in the United States.