LibGuides: Sustainable Product Design: Research resources

Conferences and Societies

Industrial Designers Society of America

Article Databases

Use these databases to locate journal and magazine articles, government reports, and dissertations. Relevant topics include sustainable product design, inverse manufacturing, life cycle analysis, and product life cycle. Links will take you to the Library's access page for the database. Click the link to access.

Business Source Ultimate

Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Engineering Village
Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

PQDT is a collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.

Note: UIUC masters theses are not in PQDT. They are only found in IDEALS or in the library catalog.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

Journals

Harvard Design Magazine
International Journal of Sustainable Engineering
University of Illinois does not subscribe. Request articles through the Library's interlibrary borrowing office.
Journal of Industrial Ecology
Published on behalf of the International Society for Industrial Ecology (ISIE), the Journal of Industrial Ecology publishes sustainability and circular economy research which considers the relationship between the environment and the socio-economic system. The journal focuses on the understanding of the environmental impacts and drivers of the stocks and flows of material, energy and other resources in production and consumption activities.
Journal of Sustainable Product Design
Ceased. Back issues available online.
Technovation
This interdisciplinary journal encompasses all facets of technological innovation. Innovation is considered from both the perspectives of process and product, social innovations (regulation and policy as well as creation of non-economic benefit), conceptualization of a new technology-based product or process through commercial utilization.

Research centers

These institutions focus on sustainable design.

Centre for Sustainable Design
The Centre researches, develops and disseminates understanding of present and future sustainability impacts and solutions related to innovation, products, technologies, services and systems through projects, training, events, networks and information.
Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute
The Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute, a non-profit organization, educates and empowers manufacturers of consumer products to become a positive force for society and the environment, helping to bring about a new industrial revolution. The Institute administers the publicly available Cradle to Cradle Certified™ Product Standard which provides designers and manufacturers with criteria and requirements for continually improving what products are made of and how they are made.
Golisano Institute for Sustainability (Rochester Institute of Technology)
Based at the Rochester Institute of Technology, the Golisano Institute for Sustainability partners with business and government sponsors to solve complex, systemic problems. One of their signature initiatives is the REMADE Institute, which focuses on product circularity.