Skip to Main Content
About
Employee Directory
Departmental Directory
Administration
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Accessibility
Preservation Services
Faculty & Staff Achievements
Library Spaces
Library Building Project
Library Employment
Events
News
Make a Gift
MORE
Libraries & Hours
Find Materials
Collections Overview
Online Reference Collection
Easy Search
Library Catalog
Course Reserves
Library Guides
Archives & Manuscript Materials
Digital Library Collections
Article Locator
IDEALS
Databases (A-Z)
Online Journals
MORE
Borrow Materials
Setup & Use My Account
Library Cards
Borrowing Privileges
Returns & Recalls
Fines & Fees
Interlibrary Loan
Document Delivery
MORE
Research Services
Ask a Librarian
Subject Specialists
Savvy Researcher Workshops
Research Data Service
Distance Learners & Instructors
Other Campus Libraries
MORE
Technologies
Assistive Technologies
Connecting to Library Resources
Loanable Technology
Printing
Publicly Accessible Computers
Scanning and Copying
Virtual & Augmented Reality
MORE
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Site Navigation Menu
University Library
LibGuides
Folk and Fairy Tales Library Guide
The Americas
Search this Guide
Folk and Fairy Tales Library Guide: The Americas
Home
Research on Folk and Fairy Tales
Resources on Themes and Interpretations
Specific Countries
Toggle Dropdown
Europe
Asia
Africa
The Americas
Middle East
The Pacific and Oceania
Brothers Grimm
Brazil
Fairy tales from Brazil: how and why tales from Brazilian folk-lore
by
Elsie Spicer Eells
Brazilian Folktales
by
Margaret Read MacDonald (Editor); Livia De Almeida; Ana Portella
Dancing Turtle
by
Pleasant DeSpain; David Boston (Illustrator)
Chile
Pachamama Tales
by
Paula Martin; Margaret Read MacDonald
Folktales of Chile
by
Yolando Pino Saavedra
Cuba
From the Winds of Manguito Desde los vientos de Manguito
by
Elvia Perez (Editor); Paula Martin (Editor); Margaret Read MacDonald (Editor); Victor Hernandez Mora
Dance, Nana, dance = Baila, Nana, baila : Cuban folktales in English and Spanish
by
Joe Hayes; Mauricio Trenard Sayago (Illustrator)
Afro-Cuban Tales
by
Lydia Cabrera; Alberto Hernandez-Chiroldes (Translator); Lauren Yoder (Translator); Isabel Castellanos (Introduction by)
Cuban Legends
by
Salvador Bueno; Christine Ayorinde (Translator); Sigi Kaden (Illustrator)
Mexico
The Eagle on the Cactus
by
Angel Vigil
Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky
by
David Bowles
Fiesta Femenina
by
Mary-Joan Gerson; Maya Christina Gonzalez (Illustrator)
Horse Hooves and Chicken Feet
by
Neil Philip (Selected by); Jacqueline Mair (Illustrator)
Puerto Rico
The Song of el Coqui and Other Tales of Puerto Rico
by
Antonio Martorell; Nicholasa Mohr
Juan Bobo
by
Carmen T. Bernier-Grand (Retold by); Ernesto R. Nieves (Illustrator)
African American
From My People: 400 Years of African-American Folklore
by
Daryl Cumber Dance (Editor)
Annotated African American Folktales
by
Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Maria Tatar (Editor)
African American Folktales
by
Roger D. Abrahams
The People Could Fly
by
Virginia Hamilton; Leo Dillon (Illustrator); Diane Dillon (Illustrator)
Native American
The Girl Who Helped Thunder and Other Native American Folktales
by
James Bruchac (Retold by); Joseph Bruchac (Retold by); Stefano Vitale (Illustrator)
Voices of the Winds
by
Margot Edmonds; Ella E. Clark; Molly Braun (Illustrator)
American Indian Myth and Legends
by
Richard Erodoes; Alfonso Ortiz
Native American Folktales
by
Thomas A. Green
Canada
Folklore of Canada
by
Edith Fowke
The golden phoenix, and other French-Canadian fairy tales
by
Marius Barbeau; retold by Michael Hornyansky. Illustrated by Arthur Price.
The talking cat, and other stories of French Canada
by
Natalie Savage Carlson; pictures by Roger Duvoisin
Canadian Fairy Tales
by
retold by Eva Martin, illustrated by Laszlo Gal
United States
American Folktales
by
Carl Lindahl; Peggy A. Bulger (Foreword by)
Treasury of North American Folklore
by
Catherine Peck (Editor)
Folklore on the American land
by
Duncan Emrich
The Greenwood Library of American Folktales
by
Thomas A. Green
More Resources
Latin American Folktales
by
John Bierhorst
Talk that talk : an anthology of African-American storytelling
by
Linda Goss (Editor); Marian E. Barnes (Editor)
Golden Tales
by
Lulu Delacre
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
by
Sam D. Gill; Irene F. Sullivan
<<
Previous:
Africa
Next:
Middle East >>
