Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 498B: The Global 1960s

A course guide.

What is a Reference Source?

On this page are sources of ready-information for questions like, when was the protest at Kent State University at which the National Guard opened fire on students? 

Use also to confirm information you find in places like Wikipedia: published reference sources go through a more rigorous editing process, so you can rely on the accuracy of the information you find in them.

Finally, reference sources often include bibliographies, making them profitable places to begin a research project.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias attempt to summarize the state of knowledge in a field of inquiry. A good encyclopedia can be a valuable starting point for your research.

Two online reference collections that students often find useful are: Credo Reference, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Bibliographies, Handbooks, Guides

Bibliographies, handbooks, and guides can assist you in charting a path through the vast amount of research available on a topic. Specialized bibliographies can also help you identify difficult-to-find materials.

Chronologies and Factbooks

Biographies

These are good, general online sources for biographical information:

Print Biographies: