Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Music 313: The History of Music I

Where Should I Search for Articles?

The best place to find scholarly articles is in one of the library's databases. The University of Illinois subscribes to over a thousand different databases that can help you access the content you need. It can be overwhelming to know how to start searching, so here are a few quick tips:

  • First, it helps to know what you're searching. Here's some terminology to keep in mind:
    • Databases are searchable collections of published sources. They can be interdisciplinary or subject-specific.
    • Journals are scholarly publications that include articles written by experts in the field. 
    • Articles are individual pieces on a specific topic published in a journal. 
    • Indexes are lists of articles or other publications within a particular discipline or topic. Some indexes will include article abstracts and some will include full text access.
    • Abstracts are concise summaries of articles that can help you determine whether an article is relevant to your research. 
  • If you are looking for a specific journal, you can search by the journal name in Library Catalog Journal Search.
  • If you are looking for a specific article, you can use the Journal and Article Locator to find the full text.

Structuring Your Search

To craft an effective search, keep these tricks in mind:Series of three venn diagrams illustrating the different results retrieved by searches using Boolean Operators AND, OR, NOT.

Boolean Searching: A search technique that uses Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to limit or widen your search.

  • AND narrows your results by linking two terms together (a search for violin AND pedagogy will only bring up results that include both of those words)
  • OR widens your search by bringing up results that have one term or another (a search for folk music OR traditional music will bring up results that include either term individually or both together)
  • NOT restricts your search by excluding the term directly following it (a search for "music education" NOT "teacher education" can help you find articles about music education, excluding those that focus on training music teachers). It's a great operator to use if your search is retrieving a lot of irrelevant results!

Quotation Marks: If you want to search for a phrase (like "string quartets" or "rhythmic improvisation"), put quotation marks around it to keep your terms together. Using quotation marks will only retrieve results that include your terms in the exact order you specified.