Find Books
You can find print and e books via
Try a keyword search related to your topic, but look for a relevant result and see what official subject headings are assigned that might be useful for identifying books on a similar topic.
Sample subject headings for a "Subject" search include:
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: eResourceISBN: 0367570106Publication Date: 2020-12-31The Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences, now in its fourth edition, compiles the contributions of major researchers and practitioners and explores the cultural institutions of more than 30 countries. This major reference presents over 550 entries extensively reviewed for accuracy in seven print volumes or online. The new fourth edition, which includes 55 new entires and 60 revised entries, continues to reflect the growing convergence among the disciplines that influence information and the cultural record, with coverage of the latest topics as well as classic articles of historical and theoretical importance.
IS Focused Databases
- Library and Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Library and Information Science Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This database offers full text and indexing for English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses, books and more. Subject coverage encompasses librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. In addition, the database provides comprehensive coverage of the history of library studies, and access to author profiles, including information on 5,000 of the most-frequently indexed authors.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.
Do a simple keyword or author search in both databases at once using the Information Sciences Easy Search:
Find more information on each database in our Basic Information Sources LibGuide:
IS Subdiscipline Databases
Broaden your search to databases outside the field of IS when (a) you find few articles in the IS-focused databases, or (b) the topic crosses disciplines. Find a list of databases listed by IS subdiscipline:
For topics with legal implications, search LegalTrac or Lexis Nexis Academic Universe:
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Subject Guide
Main Library
1408 W. Gregory Dr.
Urbana, IL 61801