Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

HPNL for EALC Students

A guide to the resources of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library for graduate students in East Asian Languages and cultures.

Overview

Use article databases to identify articles on a topic. In some cases, you will be able to link directly from the article database to the full text of the article. In other cases, you will need to search the title of the journal (not the author or title of the article) in the online catalog to find out where it is located.

"Article databases" include indexing and abstracting sources, both online and "print" (or paper), as well as the online full-text sources, and those online databases offering a mix of abstracts and full text.

There are many online article databases you can use to find scholarly articles on historical topics. These can yield secondary or primary sources, depending on how you have formulated your research topic. You may need to search several databases and indexes to find a range of articles on your topic. A comprehensive search may include both print and online indexes.

The main list of online article databases available through the Library Gateway (or select "Online Research Resources (Databases)" from the main Library Gateway page). Note that for the most part this list includes only those databases to which the Library subscribes. You can search directly from the Library Gateway for articles and journal titles.

Article Databases

Specific Topics

There are many more specialized article databases that might be useful, depending on your topic, time period, and geographical region.

For medievalists, there are two indexes that focuses primarily on Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa, but which do include some coverage of East Asia:

Area Studies are covered by their own databases, some of which you might find useful:

Related Disciplines

Article databases designed for other disciplines may also be useful to historians. Examples include:

Full-Text Databases

Several major historical journals are included in JSTOR, such as:

  • History and Theory
  • Journal of Interdisciplinary History
  • Journal of Modern History
  • Journal of Asian Studies
  • Modern Asian Studies
  • Monumenta Nipponica
  • Journal of Japanese Studies
  • China Quarterly

Here you will find, for example,

  • Ethnohistory
  • Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History
  • Journal of Interdisciplinary History
  • Journal of Women's History
  • Asian Perspectives
  • Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies
  • Journal of Japanese Studies
  • Late Imperial China
  • Twentieth-Century China
  • Korean Studies