Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 200E: Race and the City

Course guide, emphasizes Chicago, 1880-present.

Index to Black Periodicals

Provides access to periodical literature published between 1950 and 2004. One of the few important article indexes not yet available electronically. It went through a few title changes, each of which is listed below.

1. America: History and Life

America: History and Life is the best starting place to search for scholarly articles on Chicago history. This database provides indexing and abstracting for articles, book reviews, and dissertations published since 1964, and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. To search America: History and Life, start at the Library Gateway, choose Online Research Resources (Databases), and type "America History and Life" in the search box, or use the Quick Link on the HPNL website

Use the Subject Browser to select your subject term(s) by clicking on the open book icon to the right of the search box. You can narrow your search by adding a keyword or using more than one subject term. For example, select "Discrimination" as a subject term using the Subject Browser, then narrow your search with the keyword "Chicago". Your search results display as short records, which you can expand by clicking on "Expand Record" at the bottom of the record on the right. The full entry shows you an abstract or summary of the article. If a particular article is linked to full text, the link is highlighted.

2. Other Article Databses

3. eJournal Collections

There are several major collections of full-text electronic journals. For older journals, use JSTOR ("journal storage"). This is a digitized, fully searchable version of the full content of more than 700 scholarly journals from their inception (sometimes as early as the 18th century) up to the last 1-5 years (recent issues excluded per agreement with each publisher). To get to JSTOR, go to the Quick Links on the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library web site. Several major historical journals are included in JSTOR, such as Journal of American History (and its predecessor, Mississippi Valley Historical Review), Journal of Modern History, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Journal of Negro History, Hispanic American Historical Review, and Journal of Black Studies.

Because JSTOR is a collection of digitized texts rather than an abstracting/indexing service (and does not employ subject descriptors), careful selection of search terms and fields is essential. In the absence of subject headings, subject searches are built on keywords, so it is prudent to try several different approaches for any given topic. Note that only about 10% of the articles in JSTOR have abstracts, so limiting your search term to the abstracts might cause you to miss relevant material. When a Boolean keyword search produces a large set of results, try using the proximity ("near") operator to limit the results to a combination of terms occuring within 10 or 25 words of one another.

For the full text of over 300 recent scholarly journals, use Project Muse. These too are fully searchable. In most cases, only the issues from the last few years are available. Here you will find American Quarterly, History and Memory, Hispanic American Historical Review, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Radical History Review, Journal of Women's History, Ethnohistory, and several other titles of interest. To get to Project Muse, go to the "Quick Links" on the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library web site.

4. Titles of Interest