Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 200D: Film and Historical Narrative

A course guide.

If You Have a Citation to a Journal Article

If you have a citation to a specific journal article, then you should first check to see if we have online access to that journal. Search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article) in:

If we don't have online access to the journal, then you should check to see if we have a print copy. Once again, search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article), only this time search in the:

If we don't have a copy of the journal (or the specific journal issue) you need here, then request your article using:

Article Indexes

Use article indexes to identify articles on a topic. In some cases, you will be able to link directly from the article database to the full text of the article. In other cases, you will need to search the title of the journal (not the author or title of the article) in the online catalog to find out where it is located.

“Article databases” include indexing and abstracting sources, both online and “print” (or paper), as well as the online full-text sources, and those online databases offering a mix of abstracts and full text.

Good starting points for this course would be:

Other article databases that might be useful for your research in this class are:

Browsing Journals

Although article indexes provide relatively easy access to journals, at some point in your research, it might make sense simply to browse key journals. For this class, you might want to browse some of the following journals:

  • Film and History (907.05 FI)
  • Film History (791.430905 FI)
  • Historical Journal of Film, Radio, and Television (302.23 H629)
  • Cineaste (Q.791.4305 CINT)
  • Cinema Journal (791.4305 CIN)
  • Journal of Popular Culture (301.205 JO)
  • Visual Communication (302.2305 VI)
  • Media History (070.9 St9421)

E-Journals

There are two types of e-journals: journals that are published in paper format with a digital correlate, and journals that are published only in digital format (“born digital”). The journals with both a paper and electronic version are much more common than the digital-only journals. Many older print (paper) journals have been digitized and made available commercially in that format, typically as part of a collection of electronic journals.