LibGuides: HIV/AIDS: Background Information

Background Information

AIDS (acquired immunodeficiency syndrome) is caused by HIV (human immunodeficiency virus), a virus that attacks the immune system of the body, weakening its ability to fight infection. The most advanced stages of HIV infection lead to AIDS. Use the following sources to learn more about AIDS and HIV and the medical, political, legal, and social issues surrounding it.

Encyclopedia of AIDS
The first encyclopedia dedicated to AIDS. Entries cover the various types of HIV-related illnesses, including those that are and are not AIDS-defining.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Covers global LGBTQ topics and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
Encyclopedia of Sexuality Education
An encyclopedia on various topics relating to sex education and sexual minorities. Includes a number of articles discussing the history and current status of HIV/AIDS.
Bioethics
An encyclopedia that covers a range of topics on the ethics of health professions. Explores HIV/AIDS primarily through a medical/ethical lens.
Encyclopedia of Adolescence
A comprehensive encyclopedia on adolescence including entries focusing on sex education and HIV/AIDS education for youth.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Discusses the effect of racism and racial disparity on the prevalence, spread, and response to the HIV/AIDS epidemic.