You'll find a wealth of source material on the Internet, usually in digital collections from libraries, archives, museums, and government organizations. The trick is how to find them. Google is an option, but you might also consider trying directories and catalogs that specialize in scholarly resources. We recommend the folliwng:

• OAIster
• Illinois Harvest

Below are a few examples of the kind of material you can find online.

In addition to the above, there are published digital collections that aren't freely available on the Web; you can access these through the University Library. Some that you might find useful for your research in this class are:​

• National Child Labor Committee Collection. From the Library of Congress. Photographs of working and living conditions of children in the United States between 1908 and 1924.
• Images of Mainline Protestant Children and Families in the U.S.  Articles and advertising images of Protestant children and families in the U.S., within Protestant-supported or targeted magazines held in the Duke University Divinity School Library.
• Literature for Children.  Full color reproductions of American and British children's literature published between 1850 and 1950.
• Historic Iowa Children's Diaries.  11 diaries digitized in full color.
• Holy Rosary-Red Cloud Image Collection.  Photographs from the Red Cloud Indian School of the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota.
• Jackson Davis Collection of African American Educational Photographs  Images of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States.
• Education By Design: Educational Visual Aids.​ Images of educational visual aids produced by the Museum Extension Project (MEP), a division of the New Deal jobs creation program, the Works Progress Administration (WPA).
• Hidden Lives Revealed: Children in Care, 1881-1918  Collection of photographs and other documents from the Children's Society in late Victorian and early 20th Century Britain. 

The Education and Social Sciences Library has a collection of school textbooks, including history textbooks. Consult their Curriculum Collection Guide for information on using this collection, and links to other textbook collections in the United States. The following is additional secondary material on locating and using history textbooks as primary sources:

1. Resources for teaching about Europe (1986).
2. History in black and white : an analysis of South African school history textbooks.
3. Ethnocentrism and history : Africa, Asia, and Indian America in western textbooks.
4. History for their masters; opinion in the English history textbook: 1800-1914.
5. Teaching Americans about their past : history in schools, 1880-1930. 
6. The nation, Europe, and the world : textbooks and curricula in transition. 
7. Perceptions of history : international textbook research on Britain, Germany, and the United States. 
8. The European home : representations of 20th century Europe in history textbooks.