Introduction
Many original manuscripts and early editions might be inaccessible in their print form if they are in a library or archival collection somewhere in the world that you can't travel to, but that doesn't mean you're without options.
Printed facsimiles (which are copies or reproductions that are designed to be as faithful to the original edition as possible) of a manuscript can be an excellent substitute when it is not possible to examine the original manuscript. These can be in print or on microfilm/microfiche. Another option you can explore is tracking down a digital copy. While this won't be exactly the same as handling the original manuscript, digital copies can be valuable sources for your research!
This page will walk you through search tips and access options for locating facsimiles and digital copies.
Finding Facsimiles in the Library Catalog
To search for facsimiles in the UIUC library catalog or in WorldCat - a catalog that allows you to search the holdings of libraries around the world - try searches for the following subject headings. For a refresher on how to search by subject in the catalog, refer to our instructions on searching for scores & recordings from the finding music materials guide!
Using the library catalog's advanced search, try subject searches for the following:
- [Composer's name] -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
For facsimiles of medieval collections, try subject headings like these:
- Music -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
- Manuscripts, Latin -- Facsimiles
- Sacred vocal music -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
- Secular vocal music -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
- Chants (Plain, Gregorian, etc.) -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
- Motets -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
- Polyphonic chansons -- Manuscripts -- Facsimiles
Access Tip: Published facsimiles are generally something you can borrow from another institution through I-Share or Interlibrary Loan if UIUC does not have the facsimile you need. Ask at the service desk if you need help placing a request!
Finding a Digital Copy
In some cases, scores and manuscripts have been digitized and are posted online for public access. While this is not always the case, there are several ways you can check to see if a copy is available online. If you know the institution that houses the item, check their website to see if the item is part of any digital collections. If not, there are several online resources that specialize in facilitating access to digitized materials.
- Digital Resources for MusicologyThis is another website that specializes in providing links to prominent digital projects and digitized score collections, across multiple branches of musicology.
- Europeana MusicExplore recordings, sheet music, instruments and music-related collections from European audio-visual archives, libraries and museums.
- ViFa: Virtual Library of MusicologyThis website is heavily geared towards European musicological interests. One of the most useful features of the site is that it provides a links to major digital library collections from institutions around the world.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryThe HathiTrust Digital Library offers access to digital surrogates of many publications that are no longer under copyright, including some musical scores and books.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
- Music Treasures ConsortiumThe Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site.
Early & Medieval Sources
- Early Music Online (JISC)Early Music Online has digitised over 320 volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, from holdings at the British Library.
- Integrated Database for Early music (IDEM)The Integrated Database for Early Music (IDEM) is an interdisciplinary, multifaceted database of manuscripts and printed books that are relevant to the Alamire Foundation's research and activities. It therefore especially focuses on the musical heritage of the Low Countries from the early Middle Ages until 1800.
- DIAMM Digital Image Archive of Medieval MusicThis website is a portal to information about and images of worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts (the resource does not include plainchant). The music and the manuscripts date from approximately 800 to 1550 with some prominent later sources included as well. This website includes detailed information for all the known sources of European polyphonic music (which is almost entirely vocal) and high-quality color images of some manuscripts.
Opera
- Opera and Ballet Primary Sources: A Guide to Digital Scores, Libretti, and DocumentsThe University of Toronto has scanned more than 4,000 librettos from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library and made them available through the Internet Archive. Those that fit the criteria of OBPS as operas, ballets, or other forms of dramatic music are now included in our index. The collection is almost exclusively Italian and dates from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.