Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below you'll find lists of resources on the web for Horticulture and related subjects. Government agency resources appear first, followed by associations and university resources, and other valuable online sources.
Have we missed anything? Email us by clicking the blue button on the right.
University of Illinois Extension
Horticulture and Gardening
American Public Gardens Association
Dedicated to promoting people's appreciation and understanding of the irreplaceable value of plants.
National Gardening Association
Lots of resources including several searchable libraries and a gardener's dictionary.
Garden History Links
Links organized by country and topic.
Flowers, Plants, and Gardening: For Kids!
Comprehensive bibliography of various resources on gardening and horticulture, all tailored for kids. Also includes links for articles on botany, youth gardening, and hydroponics.
Council on Botanical and Horticultural Libraries (CBHL)
CBHL is an international organization of individuals, organizations, and institutions concerned with the development, maintenance, and use of libraries of botanical and horticultural literature. The purpose of CBHL is to initiate and improve communication and coordinate activities and programs of mutual interest and benefit to its membership.
Hydroponics and Water Quality
Water And Agriculture Information Center (WAIC)
WAIC provides electronic access to information on water and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water and agriculture.
EPA Water Science
This site is packed with information, tools, pollution controls, health advisories, etc.
Illinois State Water Survey
Provides lots of general information, current and historical, as well as information on the Survey's current research.
General information on home hydroponics provided by the Virginia Cooperative Extension.
Controlled Environment Agriculture Center
Research and resources on greenhouse/hydroponic plant production from the University of Arizona
Pests & Pesticides
Information on Health and Safety, Environmental Effects, Regulating Pesticides, and more.
USDA Ecological Pest Management
Alternative disease, pest, and weed control (Alternative Farming Systems Information Center)
USDA Invasive Insect Biocontrol & Behavior Laboratory
The laboratory conducts research on strategies for controlling insect pests and other invasive species, native or introduced.
PAN Pesticides Database
One-stop location for current toxicity and regulatory information for pesticides.
A guide to natural enemies in North America (Cornell University)
North Carolina Integrated Pest Management Information
Brief info about biological management (NSF Center for Integrated Pest Management and the Consortium for International Crop Protection)
PestTracker (National Agricultural Pest Information System)
Includes pest tracking, state activities, biological control (NAPIS)
Pesticide Action Network North America
Extensive collection of PANNA reports, articles, guides, videos, databases, links, and other resources (PANNA)
Related: Climate, Atmosphere & Environment