Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information on Endangered Species
The resources listed below provide information from U.S. and United Nations agencies regarding the conservation status and legal protection of species in the United States and worldwide.
America's National Wildlife Refuge System Threatened and Endangered Species Database
The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service's Refuge System threatened and endangered species database can be searched by species to find which Refuge System units report the species being present.
Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals
The product of a UN treaty, CMS provides a global platform for the conservation and sustainable use of migratory animals and their habitats. CMS lays the legal foundation for internationally coordinated conservation measures throughout a migratory range, and produces many conservation-related reports and publications.
The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources is the worlds main authority on the conservation status of species. The Redlist database contains comprehensive information about threatened and endangered species worldwide.
OECD Library: Threatened Species
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development contains sections on environmental statistics and on threatened species, in particular. This source provides an interface for accessing and visualizing IUCN Redlist information.
Species+ (CITES) Database
The Species+ database provides detailed information about species listed in Multilateral Environmental Agreements, including the CITES convention on trade in endangered species. Providing detailed information about thousands of species, including distribution, status, legal status, references, resources and documents. Information can be downloaded in tabular spreadsheet form.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program
A gateway to government information about the protection of endangered species. Provides lists of endangered species grouped by general classification (mammals, reptiles, flowering plants, etc.) and by region. Also provides general information about the conservation work done by the Division of Endangered Species.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Threatened and Endangered Species Database System
The U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service's TESS database contains current reports of all listed animal and plant species that are threatened and Endangered in the United States. There are also links to State lists and much more.
UNEP: World Conservation Monitoring Centre
"The UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre provides information for policy and action to conserve the living world." Their programs concentrate on species, forests, protected areas, marines, mountains, and freshwaters, among other subjects.
USDA NRCS Plants Database:Threatened and Endangered Plants
The Natural Resources Conservation Service allows searching by plant family, plant genus, and/or state. The database provides access to information about state and federally protected plants.
Related non-governmental resources
WildFinder was a tool for information about threatened and endangered species. Although the tool was retired in 2018, the data is still available. WildFinder is hosted by World Wildlife Fund, the largest NGO dedicated to the preservation of pant and animal species.
NANFA Links to State Lists of Endangered and Threatened Fishes
The North American Native Fishes Association provides a useful directory of sources of governmental information about endangered and threatened species of fish in Canada, Mexico, and each State in the United States.
Pesticides: Endangered Species Protection Program
EPA's Endangered Species Protection Program (ESPP) helps promote the recovery of listed species. The ESPP is a program designed to determine whether pesticide use in a certain geographic area may affect any listed species. If limitations on pesticide use are necessary to protect listed species in that area, the information is relayed through Endangered Species Protection Bulletins.
Construction Industry Compliance Assistance Center
Here you will find plain language explanations of environmental rules for the construction industry. Also provided are links to detailed information, including state regulations and other resources. There is a section about endangered species permits, state regulations, and additional resources.