Background Information
The death penalty, or capital punishment, refers to the government-sanctioned execution of individuals convicted of murder or other capital crimes. While legal in the United States, the death penalty is not utilized in all 50 states. Use the following sources to learn more about the death penalty.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowGives overviews of major topic areas. Includes articles, lists of other resources, and Pro and Con arguments for most topics.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch a wide variety of reference resources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographies from one location. Both “Death Penalty” and “Capital Punishment” have multiple entries.
- Social Work, Criminal Justice, and the Death PenaltyA collection of essays by professionals in the field examining the death penalty from criminal justice, sociopolitical, and social work considerations.
- Opinions Throughout History: The Death PenaltyDiscusses the evolution of the death penalty throughout American history, from the colonial period to the present.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday LawThis encyclopedia includes a detailed article on the Death Penalty along with related resources such as articles about criminal law, sentencing, and procedures.
- Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United StatesThis encyclopedia includes in-depth analysis of the death penalty in the U.S., including articles on significant cases, legal procedures, advocacy organizations, policies in other countries, and statistics.