LibGuides: Healthcare &amp; Healthcare Reform: Background Information

Background Information

Healthcare reform remains a contentious issue in the United States with many politicians proposing various plans ranging from single-payer healthcare to more affordable and regulated private insurance. Use the following sources to learn more about healthcare and healthcare reform and the medical, political, legal, and social issues surrounding it.

CQ Researcher
Provides topic overview, background, current issues, and bibliographies for further research.
Encyclopedia of Health Economics
Offers detailed empirical analysis and clear reviews of current theories and polices.
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Entries on a variety of topics related to health care issues.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Great source for jargon-free explanation of legal issues surrounding the health care reform debate.
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Articles on Medicare and Wages provide historical background to current problems.
Bioethics: An Encyclopedia
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, this set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
Includes "evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual."
The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests
Contains a reference section on Medicare as the insurance program relates to patients paying for their health care services.

Healthcare & Healthcare Reform

Contact Us

Background Information