1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.

Search multiple sub-collections from a single interface: Early American Imprints, series I (1639-1800) and Series II (1801-1819), Afro-American Imprints, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), and the American State Papers (1789-1838). Also includes America's Historical Newspapers and African American Periodicals. Search by keyword or subject term.

Diaries and letters of approximately 500 women. Like the material included in "Early Encounters" and "North American Women’s Letters and Diaries", which are produced by the same publishers, the texts in this database are deeply indexed and fully searchable. All letters have been re-keyed, rather than reproduced as page images.

Almost every book printed between 1473 and 1700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, regardless of language, and English-language books printed elsewhere in the same time period.

Based on the English Short Title Catalog, includes almost every book printed in England,Ireland, Scotland, and Wales during the 18th century, regardless of language, along with thousands of English-language books printed elsewhere in the same time period. Includes some serials.

15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.

Roughly 4,500 monographs and pamphlets, and more than 400 periodicals documenting women's history around the world. Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages.

Papers from the Mass Observation Archive at the University of Sussex. Mass Observation was an organization that existed between 1937 and the 1950s, and attempted to document everyday life in Britain using diaries, surveys, reports, and photograph.

Manuscripts, state papers, chronicles, accounts and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland and continental Europe. Covers Britain, 1100-1800.

Colonial period to 1950. Letters from 1,325 women. Letters have been transcribed, rather than reproduced as digital facsimiles, and they are extensively indexed, as well as searchable by keyword. Biographical information is provided for each author, as well as synopses of many of the source documents, reprinted from Joyce Goodfriend’s 1987 bibliography, The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women. Based on six additional bibliographies: The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women by Joyce Goodfriend; American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals by Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed; Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by Cheryl Cline; American Diaries in Manuscript, 1580-1954; Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies by William Matthews; And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English; and New England Diaries, 1602-1800: A Descriptive Catalogue of Diaries, Orderly Books and Sea Journals.

Works on American and British law.

Documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection at the Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History. Record series digitized include the Henry Knox Papers; the Livingston Family Papers; hundreds of record series documenting the years 1493-1859; hundreds more documenting the years 1860-1945; a collection titled "Papers and Images of the American Civil War"; and a selection of Civil War era newspapers and periodicals. Inludes subject indexes.