LibGuides: History 200B : Poverty: IV. Newspapers

1. Digitized Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our Find Newspapers guide. That guide is the best place to begin a search for newspapers.

The below are collections of digitized historical newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- New York Times (1851-2005)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
- Washington Post (1877-1992)
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Six major African American newspapers:
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
Includes one foreign newspaper, the Times of India (1838-2001)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
Early American Newspapers Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Keyword searchable collection covering 1690-1993.

Chronicling America
Covers 1836-1922, will eventually include newspapers from all 50 states.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mostly titles from 1990 to the present, but there are approximately 40 newspapers in this collection that go back to 1960.

Hispanic American Newspapers
1808-1980.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins in 1970s. Includes books, journals, magazines and reports, as well as some newspapers.
Times Digital Archive, The This link opens in a new window
(London) Keyword searchable.

Additional titles and collections are listed in our Guide to Historical Newspapers Online.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search all 46 ProQuest Historical Newspaper titles owned by the University of Illinois, representing 19 U.S. states and the District of Columbia, as well as titles from Canada, the UK, and India. Coverage spans the 18th century to the 2010s and includes important publications like the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Globe and Mail, and Chicago Tribune.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Dozens of major metropolitan newspapers, like the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, major African American newspapers like the Chicago Defender, and more. Especially strong coverage of the 20th century. Click here to see a complete list.

2. Newspapers on Microfilm

The History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library has an extensive collection of historical newspapers on microfilm. In addition to the Online Catalog, historical newspapers on microfilm can be found by searching the UIUC Library Newspaper Database. You can search this database by city or country of publication and by date of publication, so you can identify which newspapers we have for a particular city, or for a particular city and a specific year.