Recommended Multi-Subject Databases
These databases, and others you might be interested in searching, can be found on the Find Articles Guide.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) - Includes both scholarly and popular sources, updated daily.
Recommended Discipline-Specific Databases
These databases, and others you might be interested in searching, can be found on the Find Articles Guide.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window(ProQuest) - Great resource for scholarly articles analyzing language.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) - First stop for literary criticism and analysis of novels, short stories, poems, etc.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window(ProQuest) - Identifies articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations in sociology and related fields.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) - Identifies articles and books on all education topics. Note: Check the Education Full Text box at the top of the page before searching.
- ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window(EBSCO) - Locates articles and documents on education research and practice.
Suggested Keywords
Try these keywords when searching for information about your topic.
- African Americans -- English
- African Americans -- Languages
- African American Vernacular English
- Africanisms
- Black English
- Code switching
- Dialect
- Ebonics
- English language -- Social aspects
- Slang