How to Find Journal Articles
1). If you are looking for a known item:
- Try using the Journal and Article Locator (JAL)
- Search the Library Catalog for the journal title and use the "Discover Full Text" button
2). If you are exploring a topic, try using an article index such as the Bibliography of Asian Studies.
South Asian Indexes
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Bibliography of Asian Studies in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.. Use Bibliography of Asian Studies in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History Online This link opens in a new windowThe Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The Bibliography aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900 and has been enriched by co-operation with other projects. Data from the London's Past Online project were added to the database in January 2003 and the first batch of data from Irish History Online was added in August 2004, with further batches from both projects being added later. From the end of 2006 the Bibliography has co-operated with teams working under the auspices of the Scottish Historical Review Trust which will henceforth edit the primarily Scottish titles in the database.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
A database providing integrated access to indexes for the most important finding aids for English-language books, periodicals, official publications, newspapers, archives, and reference material from the 19th century. Users will be searching references from the Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalog, Cotgreave's Index, Poole's Index, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 19th century government documents from the United States and Britain, and more.
- Guide to Indian Periodical LiteratureAvailable in the International and Area Studies Library Reference section under the call number 016.052 G94.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- South Asian Periodicals IndexThe South Asian Periodicals Index provides bibliographic citations to the extensive periodical literature published in and about South Asia. An ever growing resource, the South Asian Periodicals Index strives to be inclusive in terms of subject matter, geographic heritage and linguistic origin.
Article Databases
These databases are more general databases that coverage topics in the humanities that may be good resources for finding journal articles pertaining to South Asian History.
- EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThe gateway to over 100 databases on this important academic searching platform. EBSCO databases include full text articles and books on general topics, business, health, education, and more. You can choose to search all EBSCO databases at one time, or groups of databases in the following categories: General Full-Text Journals and Newspapers, Health Information (Consumer and Professional), K-12 Education Databases (for both students and teachers), and the Military and Government Collection. You can also find links here to use the Business interface, search the EBSCO interface in Spanish, German and French, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
