Company Information
Delivers company, executive officer, and industry information in a searchable database. Includes parent, subsidiary, branch and competitor information.
If you get an error message when trying to connect to Hoovers off campus, please try an incognito window.
Note that content from Hoovers cannot be downloaded.
How to Build A Company List in Hoovers - Tutorial Video
Data Axle (Reference Solutions)
How To Create Company Lists Using Data Axle - Tutorial Video
250 companies can be downloaded in one batch.
This resource connects users to over 60 million individual business records and over 298 million consumer records and 329 million historical business records. A variety of demographic factors can be used to create custom lists that can be downloaded directly to Excel or rendered within graphs, charts and heat maps. This database is ideal for entrepreneurial planning, market research, GIS mapping projects, job-seeking activities, gauging economic trends and more.
Search Pitchbook for information on venture capital and private equity companies, funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers. In many cases, Pitchbook provides information about deals and funding.
U of I users must create an account to use Pitchbook. Please click on the "Log In" button on the top right of the screen and then click on the "Log In with SSO" link below the gray log in button on the next screen.
Not available for non-U of I students, faculty, or staff.
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Note that all users must create an account using their University of Illinois email address to access this database.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Provides full text and summaries of articles from over 40,000 newspapers, magazines, journals, wire services, trade journals, etc., in addition to allowing you to generate lists of companies using criteria that you select.
Articles are available for download, email, print or can be sent directly to Google Docs in a variety of formats including pdf, docx and xlsx.
In order to download articles, make sure to enable pop-ups for advance.lexis.com.
Click All Content Types. In the drop-down menu, click Companies.
Click Company Profile.
You are now searching company profiles.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
