LibGuides: Writing Studies: Search Strategies

Library Resources

Find the full list of subject guides, databases, and subject librarians in "Library Resources".

Library Subject Guides are useful for locating resources to help guide you through the research process: Library Subject Guides

Lists of core and related databases for specialized subject areas: Subject Databases

Subject librarians or academic liaison librarians can provide customized guidance for your research process: Subject Specialists

Research Process

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
Provides guidance for beginning research methodology across a variety of disciplines and biographies of methodology pioneers.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.

The SAGE Handbook of Rhetorical Studies by Andrea A. Lunsford (Editor); Kirt H. Wilson (Editor); Rosa A. Eberly (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452212036
Publication Date: 2008

Using a Database Thesaurus

A database thesaurus is a searchable list of subject headings and terms that shows the relationships between terms as synonyms or as a hierarchical order to achieve broader or narrower search results. Keywords may not always display relevant or precise search results, so a thesaurus is a good starting point to refine your search result and learn additional terminology.

Example:

Go to the EBSCO database, browse "MLA International Bibliography -- MLA Thesaurus" and search "writing studies". The thesaurus indicates that "rhetoric and composition" is the authorized subject term for "MLA International Bibliography -- MLA Thesaurus". From the subject term "rhetoric and composition" a list of terms with "rhetoric" and/or "composition" will be displayed. Choosing "rhetoric and composition" will lead to broader, narrower, and related terms of "writing studies" in the MLA International Bibliography -- MLA Thesaurus" subject-specific database.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
The gateway to over 100 databases on this important academic searching platform. EBSCO databases include full text articles and books on general topics, business, health, education, and more. You can choose to search all EBSCO databases at one time, or groups of databases in the following categories: General Full-Text Journals and Newspapers, Health Information (Consumer and Professional), K-12 Education Databases (for both students and teachers), and the Military and Government Collection. You can also find links here to use the Business interface, search the EBSCO interface in Spanish, German and French, and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, the Educational Resources Information Center provides free access to more than 1.2 million citations of journal articles and other education-related materials. When available, links to full text are included.

Controlled Vocabulary

Using standard subject headings in the database can lead to more precise and accurate search results.

Subject heading examples: critical pedagogy, academic writing

Search Techniques

Phrase searching or Boolean operators

Using quotation marks around search words keeps the words together during a search. This will show search results in the order that you typed them. Example search string: "composition studies"
Using Boolean operators such as (AND, OR, NOT) allows you to combine and exclude terms to refine your results.
- Example search string that includes both terms in search result: "composition studies" AND "queer theory"
- Example search string that includes either term in search result: "queer theory" OR ("lesbian and gay studies")
- Example search string that will exclude one term in search result: "English composition" NOT "composition studies"

Filters and Limiters

Using limiters and filters can help you refine your search in databases. Parameters can include author, subject, publication, language, date range, and source type.

Parentheses and Brackets

Using parentheses to group search terms with two or three additional conditions allows for more complex searches.
"composition studies or English composition" AND "queer theory or lesbian and gay studies"