LibGuides: Dyslexia: Academic Resources

Journals

Dyslexia by the British Dyslexia Association
This peer reviewed journal offers articles on recent research into the causes and effects of dyslexia from young children to adults and from around the world. The journals includes research in both the theoretical and practical fields due to the range of contributes fields of study and work from special education to psychology. The British Dyslexia Association publishes this journal
Annals of Dyslexia
This peer reviewed journal, which focuses on both dyslexia and other language learning disorders. Articles published in this journal focused more on intervention, prevention of reading difficulties, teacher knowledge, and remediation practices. This journal is published by the International Dyslexia Association.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=asn
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline is a website that features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. This resource also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.

A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research. Filter by subject and content type.

Statistics

Finding Statistics
This guide was created by librarians at UIUC and is a helpful tool for finding statistics from multiple areas of study.
Department of Education: Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
Provides statistics on different disabilities affecting school aged children and teenagers.

Searching Tips

Combine keywords for a more complex search. Use the word AND to combine key words together and OR to search for one term or the other.

Examples:

Dyslexia OR Learning Disabilities
Dyslexia AND Women
Dyslexia AND Teenagers OR Children